We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "book" with an ugly "cover"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Ballston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Ballston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good "book" with an ugly "cover"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Looks can be deceiving. If you only judged this hotel on a drive-by, you'd probably pass it up. And you'd be wrong!
Tucked in among brick residences adjacent to the highway, this convenient, clean and surprising upbeat place is a good value. Friendly staff, fast, free Internet access, comfortable rooms, free parking - and quick access to the Interstate. Decent breakfast. Not many restaurants within walking distance at night (several are only open for lunch) - but just a short drive from the Ballston mall, with plenty of dining spots to choose from.

Room Tip: North side rooms face the Interstate and may be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Jim M,

Happy New Year!

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    98
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
90
30
14
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've stayed at the Comfort Inn-Ballston (Arlington, VA) on several occasions. It's a very affordable stay and perfect for business travelers. It's convenient to DC and the Ballston metro, but at less than half the price of the Ballston hotels. The rooms are neat, clean and efficient. Clean and comfortable, great for those that need to get in and out. Convenient to local restaurants. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Elevators are quiet and open to a lobby area, not directly in front a room, so most rooms are just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear raineyd4,

Happy New Year!

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

A family emergency required a quick trip to the DC area ~ and a short trip became almost 3 weeks. The staff at the hotel was wonderful, the location was excellent as far as being central to much I had to do, the free WiFi was invaluable - and nice to have a METRO stop a short 10 minute walk away.

The breakfast was ample and was a good way to start the day.

I definitely would consider this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear rdhbrem,

Happy New Year!

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you had to come for a family emergency. We appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Four teachers and 37 middle school kids used this place for 4 days/3 nights on a school trip to DC and area. Hotel staff was cooperative, pleasant, and put us in touch with a nighttime security guard. We had a medical emergency during our, and the staff was great in helping us to get assistance. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear ClevelandTraveler88,

Happy New Year!

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

a bit of a walk to the Metro, and restaurants. Rooms are large, and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear snowydog18,

Happy New Year!

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stay here because it is convenient to the relatives we are visiting but the lack of maintenance is discouraging. Our last stay was 10/29/11.
The rooms are clean, but the mattresses sag in the middle. One of the two elevators would not stop at the lobby. I mentioned this to the front desk when I finally got to the lobby on the other elevator and was told that it "happens every morning".
Floors of the elevator have broken tiles - an example of overall need for updating.
The price is right and we like the free breakfast, but if we continue to get saggy mattresses we will be trying elsewhere to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicapped accessible room if you don't need it. The doors are heavy and awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear JKTravelsMA,

Happy New Year!

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I want to let your hotel chain to know that our stay at Comfort Inn Ballston was a very positive experience. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the other areas of the hotel. The breakfast had many nice choices. There were employees always working around the hotel cleaning and keeping the place nice. Another aspect that made the stay very positive is the fact that our stay was because of the Marine Marathon. The people in my hotel room participated in the race. The front desk allowed us to keep the room for extra time so that we could take showers after the race. That was a very generous gesture by your hotel and much appreciated by me so I didn't have to travel 10 hours with 3 sweaty men who just ran 26.2 miles!! I left your hotel very impressed and wanted to make sure that I passed on my positive experience. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Dave D,

Happy New Year!

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Address: 1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.