We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you just didn't have to pay for parking ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #33 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Ripley, Wv
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“If you just didn't have to pay for parking ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Courtyard Crystal City except for a few things: 1. Our room was toward J.Davis Highway thus lots of noise especially early morning. If we should stay there again, we would ask for a room that ends in an odd number away from JDH. 2. Walls were thin. Could hear the alarm clocks on both sides of us go off both days. Hallways carry noise.
3. Breakfast buffet was priced a bit high ($13 plus tax). basically the same buffet that is free at Residence Inns (except for omelets). There is a McDonald's 100 yards away. 4. WAS NOT PLEASED TO PAY $12 per night for parking. There was another lot right by the hotel, but we did not check them out since it was late when we got there.
Room was spacious, nice amenities, great shower, spotlessly clean. We got a pretty good deal for CCC on Priceline, but the parking was an addition to our $52 rate.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    93
    48
    25
    9
See reviews for
43
30
33
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Courtyard Arlington/Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

I recently spent 2 nights in this hotel. It is conveniently located near Reagan National Airport and is about a 10 minute walk from the Crystal City Metro into downtown DC and the surrounding suburbs. The property also offers a shuttle to the airport. The shuttle is shared with other Marriott-branded properties in the area so the trip to the airport can be about 20 minutes if there are a lot of stops. Also, there is a Metro stop at the airport so the shuttle can save you walking.

The hotel has been remodeled and features the new Marriott bedding which is quite comfortable. The check in staff was fairly friendly and efficient. I did eat the optional breakfast buffet which was about $12. The food was typical Marriott fare, eggs, waffles, meats, cereals, etc. You can also get waffles and eggs to order. The food was tasty but could have been hotter which is always the case with these buffets.

The Courtyard offers a nightly happy hour featuring half price appetizers and lower drink prices. I had a quesadilla with cheese and veggies for $3.50 plus a draft beer for $1.75 which was an excellent deal.

The major problem with this hotel is the noise. Everything is noisy. You hear every sound including the heat/AC, traffic outside going over bumps, trains and your neighbors. I listened to the people in the room next to me making "noises" for well over an hour. I finally went to the lobby and asked security to go observe the loudness and to tell them to knock it off as they were really being too loud. Needless to say, I got limited sleep that evening. This isn't a bad hotel as it is located near a number of restaurants and it is pretty easy to get into DC, but in the future I will stick with the full-service Marriott Crystal Gateway or the Arlington/Rosslyn Residence Inn.

  • Liked — Location in Crystal City/DCA area
  • Disliked — Way too noisy, will not return
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

My family recently stayed here when a few of us ran in the ATM race. This was a very convenient location for getting to the race -- a short walk and metro ride away. Parking in the garage was crowded, but that was to be expected on a busy weekend. The two elevators could barely keep up with hotel traffic, but this improved as the weekend went on. Our room was spotlessly clean and had all the expected amenities. We overlooked Reagan National Airport ... and it was fun to watch the planes take off and land. Rail lines were also on that side of the hotel, and except for very noisy freight trains, it did not present a problem. We had breakfast in the hotel both days. There is a decent selection of hot and cold dishes at the buffet for a reasonable price. We did not have dinner there; instead we opted to walk to one of the Crystal City restaurants. All in all, a pleasant experience.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

I stayed here for two nights while attending a workshop at Hyatt next door. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was especially good. The free business corner in the lobby was well-equipped with three computers, a printer and paper and pen for writing. The internet connection was fast but because the computers run on Sun operating system, the common softwares like Microsoft word etc. were not there. I couldn't open any attachments from my email. But since it's free, I can't complain too much about it.

The major drawback was the noisy air-con in the room. It was so loud that I couldn't sleep at all. In the end, I just switched it off completely. Fortunately the weather was a little cooler when I was there so sleeping without air-con was still bearable.

The free airport shuttle runs only on demand. The reception staff was very nice to call up the driver when I checked out. I was told that the shuttle would come in 10 mins. It turned out to be a 45 mins wait. I would have missed my flight if I hadn't allowed ample time for this.

  • Liked — Clean room, good shower and gym
  • Disliked — air-con, airport shuttle
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

I had stayed here years ago and always enjoyed this hotel, so I was happy when Priceline selected this hotel for me. My king room was spacious and spotless. Staff were always very helpful. One big amenity was the free computer and internet use by the lobby. They also have a free shuttle to the Metro. The area is in Crystal City, there are many restaurants and shops close by and Washington DC attractions are only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2005

Great hotel with a wonderful staff. Very convenient shuttle both to Metro station and to Reagan National Airport. We were able to drop off luggage and go touring while waiting on room to be prepared. The breakfast buffet was very good. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard Oct 20-23, 2005 and had a marvelous experience. On many levels, the hotel truly has it's act together. First of all, our room was spotless and the decor was calming and modern. The hallways were very clean with hardly any scuff marks on the wall. Our room faced east (towards the airport) and it was fun to watch the ships, planes, trains, and cars go by below. Definitely ask for an east-facing room if you can. The windows were sealed very tightly, so you could barely hear any noise from outside.

The front desk staff, though sometimes a bit harried, were polished professionals and accommodated our every need -- from calling a taxi to lending us a pair of scissors to offering suggestions for dinner. Other nice features: free computer and Internet access in the lobby area (great for those of us who don't tote laptops around) -- and THANK YOU to the Courtyard for not charging annoying fees to use the lobby computers. The three computer stations come complete with writing paper, a printer, pens, pads, and comfortable seats. The computer area is adjacent to a very large and neatly-decorated lounge area and the famous Courtyard buffet. At $11.95 per person, it comes complete with eggs-to-order, cereal, fruit, bacon, oatmeal -- a really good way to start the day. The restaurant staff were particularly attentive and pleasant. Overall, you get the sense that the staff is treated well by management.

Perhaps the only drawback to the hotel was its location -- we didn't rent a car and had to rely on taxis to get everywhere -- which we knew in advance, but ideally we wish we were closer to the Metro station (3/4-mile away). Still, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The hotel does offer a very convenient shuttle service -- every 15 minutes to the airport and on-demand to other locations including the Metro station and Crystal City-area destinations. We had a real range of shuttle driver personalities -- from exceedingly pleasant to sullen. Still, they did their job professionally and it was great.

Great job, Courtyard! Woo-hoo!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Address: 2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Arlington, VA the Courtyard Reagan National Airport Hotel offers ideal accommodations for vacations and business trips alike. This hotel in Crystal City is only half a mile away from DCA Airport and with complimentary shuttle service to the Crystal City Metro Rail Station, the tourist attractions in and around Washington, DC are at guests' fingertips. The hotel is also just minutes t to area businesses and government agencies, including the Pentagon, PBS, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and IBM. Amenities at this Crystal City, VA hotel include a redesigned lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides enhanced food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy comfortable accommodations with flat screen TVs and luxurious Marriott bedding. Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City Reagan Airport (DCA) Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.