We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are solid, service inconsistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Rooms are solid, service inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard after a late night flight into Reagan airport. Hotel is just a few mins from the airport with a quick and efficient shuttle. Rooms were excellent, and among the most spacious I've seen in a long while for a non-suite configuration. My main issue with this hotel is the inconsistent service from the desk staff - when I checked in Sainabou, the supervisor on duty, did not bother to greet me, thank me, or even acknowledge my presence - I stood in line for at least 5-10 mins to check-in, which was then followed by a completely sullen and stone-faced Sainabou asking for my license and credit card before shoving the room keys toward me. It was the most unwelcome I've ever felt in a hotel in the US.

On the other hand, during checkout, Jackie and Seyri (sp.?) who checked me out were extremely pleasant, thanked me for my business, and generally were a pleasant change from my check-in experience. I think Sainabou clearly needs to be retrained on how to treat a customer - perhaps by Jackie and Seyri!

Service aside, this is a decent option for a quick stay in the DC area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jiyen1213-

Thank you for staying with us at Courtyard Crystal City. I am sorry that your poor experience with Sainabou upon arrival left you with a poor initial impression of the hotel. Your feedback has been shared with her individually as a tool to improve her awareness of how her actions and body language translate to an arriving guest. Thank you for recognizing Seydi and Jackie. They have been recognized in front of their peers for the service they provided you during the stay.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
48
33
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked two double beds and was given one king instead. Front desk people were extremely rude and unhelpful saying we just had to deal with it regardless of what we reserved. Room was very clean and Location wasn't bad but everything was overshadowed by the horrible service at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Weisses-

I am so sorry that you experienced a problem with the front desk during your stay with us. I will certainly review your concern with the desk staff member involved. I did review your reservation and found it to have been reserved via priceline.com for a room with a king bed. I understand this was not what you would have preferred, but the hotel was completely committed on our rooms with 2 double beds. Booking directly with the hotel via phone or our website ensures you the type or room and special requests. The blind booking process with priceline and other wholesalers does not allow for such special needs to be confirmed.
Again, I am sorry for the incident at the front desk.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

excellent quality service at hotel. friendly greeting; quick processing of reservation. quality, clean room. no outside noise. excellent quick shuttle service too and from airport. free in-room internet service.

Room Tip: rooms on 5th floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Bob W-

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Courtyard by Marriott, Crystal City. As you noted, we are close to the airport and our shuttle service, which runs from 5 AM to 11 PM daily, is quick and easy for our guests. Please come visit again soon.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I travel quite a bit. This was a vacation to visit old pals and colleagues. While the location is in one of the most boring places in the DC area (Crystal City), the front desk staff were amazingly nice and helpful - on all shifts. Same to the shuttle driver who can take you to the Crystal City Metro, although the walk will not kill you. I can only remember one name: Jackie, but all the ladies on the front desk were consistently nice and smiled all the time. To the GM: good hires.

Room Tip: Yellow line takes you to to L'Enfant (if you want to visit the Mall and Museums) downtown DC and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear WJBkirkland-
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott, Crystal City. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and that Jackie left a great impression on you. We are glad to have her on the staff. I will be sure to share you comments with her.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Close to Reagan, shuttle service a plus, but it needs to lighten up. As in, lighter woods and gentler coloring. The dark wood everywhere gives you the notion you are booked for a night in the Bat Cave. Rooms are a good size, which is always a plus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on your experience at Courtyard Crystal City. While the hotel does have some dark wood features throughout, our recent Bistro renovation really opened up the lobby for a variety of use throughout the day. It's a great space to relax for a cocktail or meal, to catch up on a bit of work or to simply relax and enjoy one of the large TVs in the space.

Thanks for sharing and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked the hotel for a business trip to DC. It locates right by Reagan National Airport. The free shuttle service provided by the hotel is very timely and convenient. Check in and check out are fast. It is a great place for a short business tay in DC area especially when you do not want to rent a car.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott, Arlingtton Crystal City. I am happy to see that the location and services met your needs while traveling in and out of Washington Reagan National Airport. As you noted, with our close proximity to the airport and various public transportation options, a car free stay is a great way to visit the area. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I spent a night in this hotel and the overall stay was wonderful. there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area close by and the travel time to the D.C. area was within minutes. I was able to enjoy the national harbor and the movies without a lot of traffic. the only downfall was the fact even as a guest you have to pay for parking in the hotel garage. I really think that should be included in your stay with the hotel not an additional $22/ per night. other than paying for parking I would stay in the hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent stay. I am glad you found the hotel and neighborhood confortable, convenient and enjoyable. As you noted, the parking facility at the hotel does have a nightly fee. This fee is monitored and kept in line or slightly below other secured garage facilities in the area. The front desk staff is also happy to provide parking options in the area, including options for oversized vehicles. We hope your travels bring you our way again soon.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Address: 2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Arlington, VA the Courtyard Reagan National Airport Hotel offers ideal accommodations for vacations and business trips alike. This hotel in Crystal City is only half a mile away from DCA Airport and with complimentary shuttle service to the Crystal City Metro Rail Station, the tourist attractions in and around Washington, DC are at guests' fingertips. The hotel is also just minutes t to area businesses and government agencies, including the Pentagon, PBS, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and IBM. Amenities at this Crystal City, VA hotel include a redesigned lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides enhanced food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy comfortable accommodations with flat screen TVs and luxurious Marriott bedding. Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City Reagan Airport (DCA) Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.