We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Expected and Received” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Winchester, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality Expected and Received”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Quality of the hotel is what you would expect from Courtyard. Hotel is clean and up to date with a friendly helpful staff. Location could be better for walking around Crystal City, but proximity to airport is excellent. In a city where land is at a premium, this hotel does not immediately face its Jefferson Davis Hwy address, so is easy to pass up if driving. It is a short 10 minute walk to Crystal City shopping and restaurants. If you aren't up for the walk, there is a shuttle that will take you into Crystal city shopping/dining/Metro area. I would recommend this hotel for business and leisure travelers alike.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear TDG22601-

Thank you for sharing your great feedback about the hotel and your stay! I'm glad you found the location convenient. As you note, the hotel is walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the METRO (subway), but we do offer a local shuttle to drop you off if you have had a bit too much walking for the day. Come back soon!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    81
    41
    22
    9
See reviews for
38
24
30
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent service, contemporary spacious rooms. Also quiet. Was there for business in April and could not ask for more. Front desk staff were very helpful during my stay. Shuttle runs to the airport every 20 minutes. Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Definitely would recommend staying on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear BHL-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the hotel. As you note, we are convenient to local offices, the airport and local dining and shopping areas. I'm glad you found the stay comfortable and quiet. We hope to see you again soon at Courtyard!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently stayed here one night on business. The location was great, as it was literally a one-minute walk across the street from my office. It was about an $18 cab ride from Union Station. Check in was fast and friendly. Room was very clean. Free wi-fi was reliable. Bathroom had enough linens for an army. I was on the 6th floor and didn't hear any noise from the airport, nor from the hall or the adjacent rooms. My colleagues and I utilized the hotel shuttle to go to dinner, but since it was a nice night we opted to walk back - it was only about a ten-minute walk to a commercial area with lots of restaurants. The shuttle also dropped folks off at the metro. Bed was comfortable and the flat screen TV was huge. It would have been nice to have a cab stand. Upon checkout I went next door to the Hyatt. No complaints at all about this property,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear BHL

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I'm glad you found the location convenient to your office just across from the hotel. You are correct, while we are conveniently located less than 5 minutes from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, noise from the airport is not an issue for our guests. We have recently upgraded to a NEW wireles internet service which our guest are finding faster and more reliable than our previous system. I'm also glad you were able to take our shuttle out to a local restaurant and then enjoy a short walk back on your return.

Thanks for staying and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Courtyard is what you would expect from a Courtyard, BUT it isn't very well located in Crystal City. There are many other hotels from which to chose that will be closer to the dining and shopping available in the area. Also, the parking for this property is expensive. My suggestion is check around and chose this property if the price is right and being close the Crystal City amenities isn't a high priority.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear hankwill

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us @ Courtyard. We are glad you had the opportunity to stay with us. We do offer a shuttle to Crystal City METRO station, local offices, restaurants and shopping which are all just a few blocks from the hotel. We do charge for parking at the hotel, but monitor local rates to ensure we are priced at or below other available options for parking. Since this is an urban market, parking is definately at a premium, but there are multiple public transportation options available for our guests who choose to travel without an auto.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here on 4/5/13. Prepaid for parking using a 3rd party service that the Courtyard administers.

Check-in: Was nicely greeted by a woman who was unfortunately just "filling in" and didn't know any of the local hotel policies with respect to parking. Was then referred to another woman who required that I print out a copy of my parking confirmation although I explicitly was told by the 3rd party service that showing confirmation via their iPhone app would suffice. This ended up turning what should've been a 5 minute experience into 30 minutes. The second woman (middle-aged African American) also kept making unprofessional grunts and moans throughout the whole process. It was off-putting. Lesson for Marriott: If you are going to contract through 3rd parties, make sure you are both on the same page.

Room: Upon entering the room on the 13 floor, the smell of old woman "powder" perfume was overpowering. At this point though, it was late and we just wanted dinner. The room is dated. The toilet paper is completely hidden from view in the bathroom (underneath the sink). The water pressure was barely more than a drip.

Airport Shuttle: At check-in we were told that the shuttle runs promptly every 20 minutes and does not wait. We arrived at 6:53 am for the 7:00 airport shuttle only to be told that the shuttle had left 30 seconds earlier. It would be leaving again at 7:20. This is unacceptable. If there is a scheduled time, you need to wait until that time to leave. Fortunately for us, a random fellow guest not only gave us his cab (because he was in the same situation), but paid for it as well! That made our day. Unfortunately, it was a guest that went out of pocket to make up for Marriott's mistake.

We stayed on points. Had we actually paid money, my concerns would've been expressed more emphatically.

Bottom line: Needs updating and better training. Convenient to airport though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Willisdavis

Thank you for sharing your concerns about your arrival experience, guest room and our airport shuttle the following morning. I do apologize that you found the redemption process for your booking with AllUSAParking.com to be difficult and time consuming. Your concerns about the staff members on duty have been shared with them so that they understand the impression they created on you.
I have shared your concerns over the scheduling of the early morning airport shuttles with the manager and drivers. We have revisited the importance of following the publish schedule. I am sorry that the drivers lack of attention to the scheduled departure times caused you frustration upon departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a last minute spring break trip to see DC. We got an exceptional rate on Priceline that included breakfast. Knowing this brand and comparing it to other hotels in this category, we found it to be right on with our expectations. Overall, a decent place to stay.

Pros:

- No problems with noise (12th floor) or comfort of expected room.
- The staff was pleasant and our requests for more towels etc.were met promptly
- Hotel common areas were updated and clean
- Name brand toiletries in bathroom if you forgot any
- Although small, the kids enjoyed the pool
- Included breakfast was good. Among the choices my family liked the french toast, eggs & bacon, oatmeal with fresh fruit.

Cons:

Courtyard Marriott Shuttle Van - Oh, boy! The condition of the van is in dyer need of cleaning and repair. The inside seating & walls were d-i-r-t-y, the passenger door needs to be fixed due to wear and tear. Lastly, fix the drivers arm rest already! I'm glad I'm an easy going person...the arm rest literally fell off during one of our trips to the metro and it was an LOL moment! Marriott management, visit the shuttle right across the street at the Hyatt, clean inside and out with the added touch of water for riders.

Pool Life gaurd - I would more accuratly describe her as the pool attendant at best. It's nice to see a hotel pool with a life gaurd. However, this woman clearly did not take her job seriously and did not want to be there. She was doing everything but life gaurding (playing with her phone, feet up in her chair, never patrolled the area). Although, I don't rely on life gaurds for the safety of my kids. Some parents might put their gaurd down knowing there is a life gaurd on duty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
PJBlueEyes-

Thank you for your well rounded comments on the hotel and your experience with us. I am happy to see that you had a good stay in general. We are in need of a replacement van, something I am currently working towards. We have shared your concerns about the life guard on duty during your stay with our pool company and they have resolved the situation.

Thank you for choosing Courtyard!

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Although the room was slightly small, it was very clean and the shuttle was excellent to Crystal City metro and to the Airport. It was literally five minutes to the Airport. The front desk staff were friendly. The only complaint was the heat was not too effective. The bathroom was large and clean and well lit.

Room Tip: They gave me one on a high floor which was nice and quiet. The TV was placed in a odd position to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MaryWest-

Thank you for your review! As you note, we are just a few minutes from the terminals at Washington Reagan National Airport, but yet away from the noise of the airport itself. I'll be sure to have the engineer check the heat in your room to make sure there was not a problem with the heating unit. As you note, the 42 Inch HDTVs in our King bedded rooms are positioned to the side of the bed so that they are across from the couch. The TV is on a swival which helps the viewing angle and can be moved so that you can see it from the desk, couch or bed during your stay.

Thanks again and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Also Known As:
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City
Courtyard Arlington
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott
Address: 2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Arlington, VA the Courtyard Reagan National Airport Hotel offers ideal accommodations for vacations and business trips alike. This hotel in Crystal City is only half a mile away from DCA Airport and with complimentary shuttle service to the Crystal City Metro Rail Station, the tourist attractions in and around Washington, DC are at guests' fingertips. The hotel is also just minutes t to area businesses and government agencies, including the Pentagon, PBS, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and IBM. Amenities at this Crystal City, VA hotel include a redesigned lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides enhanced food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy comfortable accommodations with flat screen TVs and luxurious Marriott bedding. Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City Reagan Airport (DCA) Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.