We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not up to standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here on 4/5/13. Prepaid for parking using a 3rd party service that the Courtyard administers.

Check-in: Was nicely greeted by a woman who was unfortunately just "filling in" and didn't know any of the local hotel policies with respect to parking. Was then referred to another woman who required that I print out a copy of my parking confirmation although I explicitly was told by the 3rd party service that showing confirmation via their iPhone app would suffice. This ended up turning what should've been a 5 minute experience into 30 minutes. The second woman (middle-aged African American) also kept making unprofessional grunts and moans throughout the whole process. It was off-putting. Lesson for Marriott: If you are going to contract through 3rd parties, make sure you are both on the same page.

Room: Upon entering the room on the 13 floor, the smell of old woman "powder" perfume was overpowering. At this point though, it was late and we just wanted dinner. The room is dated. The toilet paper is completely hidden from view in the bathroom (underneath the sink). The water pressure was barely more than a drip.

Airport Shuttle: At check-in we were told that the shuttle runs promptly every 20 minutes and does not wait. We arrived at 6:53 am for the 7:00 airport shuttle only to be told that the shuttle had left 30 seconds earlier. It would be leaving again at 7:20. This is unacceptable. If there is a scheduled time, you need to wait until that time to leave. Fortunately for us, a random fellow guest not only gave us his cab (because he was in the same situation), but paid for it as well! That made our day. Unfortunately, it was a guest that went out of pocket to make up for Marriott's mistake.

We stayed on points. Had we actually paid money, my concerns would've been expressed more emphatically.

Bottom line: Needs updating and better training. Convenient to airport though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Willisdavis

Thank you for sharing your concerns about your arrival experience, guest room and our airport shuttle the following morning. I do apologize that you found the redemption process for your booking with AllUSAParking.com to be difficult and time consuming. Your concerns about the staff members on duty have been shared with them so that they understand the impression they created on you.
I have shared your concerns over the scheduling of the early morning airport shuttles with the manager and drivers. We have revisited the importance of following the publish schedule. I am sorry that the drivers lack of attention to the scheduled departure times caused you frustration upon departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    54
    27
    10
See reviews for
48
33
36
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a last minute spring break trip to see DC. We got an exceptional rate on Priceline that included breakfast. Knowing this brand and comparing it to other hotels in this category, we found it to be right on with our expectations. Overall, a decent place to stay.

Pros:

- No problems with noise (12th floor) or comfort of expected room.
- The staff was pleasant and our requests for more towels etc.were met promptly
- Hotel common areas were updated and clean
- Name brand toiletries in bathroom if you forgot any
- Although small, the kids enjoyed the pool
- Included breakfast was good. Among the choices my family liked the french toast, eggs & bacon, oatmeal with fresh fruit.

Cons:

Courtyard Marriott Shuttle Van - Oh, boy! The condition of the van is in dyer need of cleaning and repair. The inside seating & walls were d-i-r-t-y, the passenger door needs to be fixed due to wear and tear. Lastly, fix the drivers arm rest already! I'm glad I'm an easy going person...the arm rest literally fell off during one of our trips to the metro and it was an LOL moment! Marriott management, visit the shuttle right across the street at the Hyatt, clean inside and out with the added touch of water for riders.

Pool Life gaurd - I would more accuratly describe her as the pool attendant at best. It's nice to see a hotel pool with a life gaurd. However, this woman clearly did not take her job seriously and did not want to be there. She was doing everything but life gaurding (playing with her phone, feet up in her chair, never patrolled the area). Although, I don't rely on life gaurds for the safety of my kids. Some parents might put their gaurd down knowing there is a life gaurd on duty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
PJBlueEyes-

Thank you for your well rounded comments on the hotel and your experience with us. I am happy to see that you had a good stay in general. We are in need of a replacement van, something I am currently working towards. We have shared your concerns about the life guard on duty during your stay with our pool company and they have resolved the situation.

Thank you for choosing Courtyard!

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Although the room was slightly small, it was very clean and the shuttle was excellent to Crystal City metro and to the Airport. It was literally five minutes to the Airport. The front desk staff were friendly. The only complaint was the heat was not too effective. The bathroom was large and clean and well lit.

Room Tip: They gave me one on a high floor which was nice and quiet. The TV was placed in a odd position to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MaryWest-

Thank you for your review! As you note, we are just a few minutes from the terminals at Washington Reagan National Airport, but yet away from the noise of the airport itself. I'll be sure to have the engineer check the heat in your room to make sure there was not a problem with the heating unit. As you note, the 42 Inch HDTVs in our King bedded rooms are positioned to the side of the bed so that they are across from the couch. The TV is on a swival which helps the viewing angle and can be moved so that you can see it from the desk, couch or bed during your stay.

Thanks again and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stay at Marriotts exclusively so I am quite a connoisseur of this brand, (100 nights per year.) so, to be to the point, the staff was not really up to par for accommodating business needs. No cabs come to this hotel so they have to call them, it is tucked in the corner so the flow of traffic is not convenient. I stayed on the top floor and you can hear the service equipment on the roof. I know this sound like bashing but like I said, not my first choice. Sorry Marriott:(

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear bighalloween-

Thanks for your feedback on the hotel. While we do not have a cab stand in front of the hotel, we do share one with the Hyatt next door. The local jurisdiction only allows so many stands in an area to avoid conjestion, so our is next door. We are happy to pull a cab over from the stand to our drive if they are waiting or call for a cab should there be a high demand and one not be at the stand.

Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest. I'm sure if we are not your perfect spot, Marriott has a great hotel that fits your needs for your next visit.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for the cherry blossom festival. Hotel was on the edge of all the crystal city activity, but was an easy walk and also offered regular shuttle service to the metro and to the airport (every 10 to 20 minutes). The shuttle staff were highly professional and helpful as was the housekeeping staff and especially the bistro staff. You can get a partial Starbucks menu in the lobby. Hotel was clean with typical courtyard amenities and extremely quiet for sleeping. Overall a great place to base your DC explorations from.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear SKimo26-

Thank you for visiting the DC area for the Cherry Blossom Festival this year. It continues through mid-April with the blossoms themselves due to peak around April 10 to 12. Spring in DC is a great time to visit the city. Tons of activities, fesival and attractions to see in the area. Be sure to take time to enjoy one of the area's great parks and soak up the best weather of the year. One tip, if you have allergies, pack your medicine. With all of the beautiful trees and flowers, we get more than our fair share of pollin in the spring.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to the NCAA basket ball tourney and found hotels in the district expensive for the weekend. Then we discovered this hotel. Located in an office park, this Courtyard is one of a dozen hotels catering to business people. Located at the end of the Crystal City area, one would have to walk longer to get to the places in Crystal City. Since our interest was downtown D.C.it was not an issue. We took the free hotel shuttle that runs every 20 minutes to the Metro station (7 minute ride) and jumped on the yellow line for a short 12 minute ride into the heart of downtown. The shuttle runs till 11pm and was very convenient. Do your homework as to what to see/do as the hotel staff did not seem knowledgable on tourism even though it was packed with tourists. Rooms were quiet and seemed to be soundproofed well. Would return.

Room Tip: Higher floors minimize road noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear joeworf-

First, I hope your NCAA basketball team won their games and advanced to the next round. Thank you for your comments on the hotel. You are correct, we do have a lot of tourist who stay with us. In addition to the front desk staff who is happy to provide information on local attractions for Arlington and Washington, DC including the Smithsonian Museums, we have several locations in the lobby with information magazines, maps and a guide to using the subway system (METRO). One great feature of the lobby is our interactive GoBoard which allows you to touch the screen and find dining, transportation, areas of interest, news, weather and more. Be sure to check it out the next time you are in the lobby!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for the price that we got. Awesome location and shuttle service. The metro is right there so you can hop on and go anywhere in the city. The only down side is that there are not a lot if restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Matthewhatfield04-

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your stay. I am glad to hear that it was a perfect hotel for your price point. We take pride in offering our guests a great stay with service and amenities that meet their needs. As you noted, the restaurants for our neighborhood are about 4 blocks away. We do provide walking directlons as well as a local shuttle that can drop you at the METRO station in Crystal City or near the restaurants. Be sure to just check with the front desk on the service times and drop off points for the shuttle.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport

Address: 2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Arlington, VA the Courtyard Reagan National Airport Hotel offers ideal accommodations for vacations and business trips alike. This hotel in Crystal City is only half a mile away from DCA Airport and with complimentary shuttle service to the Crystal City Metro Rail Station, the tourist attractions in and around Washington, DC are at guests' fingertips. The hotel is also just minutes t to area businesses and government agencies, including the Pentagon, PBS, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and IBM. Amenities at this Crystal City, VA hotel include a redesigned lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides enhanced food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy comfortable accommodations with flat screen TVs and luxurious Marriott bedding. Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City Reagan Airport (DCA) Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.