We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Very nice, clean rooms, reasonably priced. Free parking. Close to Metro station, about 4 blocks away. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. They arranged a bus tour of Washington DC for us and we were picked up and dropped off right at the hotel. There was no breakfast provided at the hotel which would have been nice for quick morning getaways. There is a restaurant on the premises, but the breakfast served was not great. We did not try lunch or dinner there and there were no other restaurants within an easy walking distance so we decided to drive to other nearby restaurants instead..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    281
    158
    55
    68
See reviews for
269
147
50
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My parents and I arrived on Labor day from Minnesota. We had no trouble finding it with our GPS. We stayed 10 nights. The room was in the outdoor portion but in the courtyard leading to the pool. We had good service checking in and later when we asked for a couple extra things and got them right away. The room was average size but was clean, relatively quiet, had comfortable beds, a table with 3 chairs for eating and playing cards, a microwave and small fridge. The hotel is within a 7 to 10 minute walk to the metro, a CVS, grocery store, and several restaurants. They have outdoor and covered free parking. They have free wifi. Both of which are rare in this area. They have a restaurant/ bar onsite that we ate at 3 times. We had good service and good food. And the prices were very reasonable for the area. They also had a selection of items like snacks, cereal, pop and juice to purchase and bring to your room. They also had a laundry room for guests that we used. They have a covered pool but we did not use it but it looked nice. We never felt unsafe or uncomfortable in the area. It was a good location and value for touring the Washington DC area. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a decent room at a good price.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We loved our stay. Clean. Affordable. All the amenities. Close to Metro/ Attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

When we arrived in Arlington our GPS said you have reached your destination, yet we couldn't find the hotel! We drove around the block a few times and then looked across 4 lanes of traffic to see the hotel on the other side of the medium. Hmmmm... ok... I'm not sure if Fairfax Drive (which is where the hotel is located) used to be there, or if a couple of lanes were added or what but anyways... If you're using a GPS, use the address 1600 Fairfax Drive and you will be very close to the Best Western and you won't have to look around for it.

The staff was friendly and helpful when called upon. We had no issues with our stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and had a king sized bed, desk, fridge, microwave, lcd tv, ac unit, iron and hair dryer. The halls had security cameras for extra comfort.

There is FREE underground parking (which is one of the reasons we chose this hotel) and FREE wifi available.

Ledo's restaurant is right next door, so you don't have to walk very far for a quick bite to eat. The food is very good and the prices are cheap. The neighbourhood appears to be safe and you are within walking distance of the Iwo/Jima Memorial and Arlington Cemetery.

The hotel is only a few minutes drive away from downtown Washington and a few minutes from the Fasion Center. If I were ever in the area again, I would not hesitate to stay here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

traveled to washington to visit family and this was recommended and glad i checked in! very clean, modern and staff friendly. great location to metro.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I traveled from NJ to Arlington in 3 hours, but it then took us an hour and a half to find the hotel. Online, on the phone and even on their business cards the address is listed as 1501 Arlington Blvd which we could not program into our GPS. After driving around for an hour I used the cell phone to call the hotel. I was told the address was actually Fairfax Drive. Which it was. If it's Fairfax why does everything list it as Arlington?? Once we got there we found our room to be clean, comfortable and quiet even though we were facing a highway. Looking at the photos online it looks like a two story outdoor corridor building, but there is a three story section with indoor corridors. We ended up in that section which was great. The indoor pool is beautiful and large enough to swim laps. They have free parking which is rare in that area. People staying in the three story building have garage parking. There is also a restaurant next to the hotel, but we walked around the block to Ruby Tuesdays. Once we were able to start finding our way around it was convenient to Washington, DC. If we go back to Washington, DC we will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

After having booked our room through Best Western directly and not a third party vendor, we were less than delighted to find that we could only stay in the nicer room we booked for three days, as it had been block booked for a tour group the remainder of our stay. When we asked who could resolve this, we were given various names, none of whom we were ever able to see during our seven days there. We did see the General Manager in his office one day, but were told he could do nothing for us, including the courtesy of coming out of his office and telling us himself. So mid-week, we resigned ourselves to our fate and while making the move to the new room and dealing with our original desk clerk Jaydeep, I muttered that the whole mess was B.S. and Jaydeep goes off on me for my language (no other customers heard the remark) and threatened to kick us out of the hotel!! Complete over-reaction. And believe me, I was being very calm and polite about the whole thing. I just let it pass as an unwinable battle.
After moving into our new room, we found that it was in the older section of the hotel and definitely a step down (see photos). To be fair, other than Jaydeep, the rest of the staff were very nice and I've stayed in worse places, so it was adequate. And the location was excellent, just minutes from the Metro stop.
Our last night there held a special surprise for us, when my wife spotted a mouse running across the floor and under the bed. By this point, all we could do was laugh and put all the food in the fridge. We told the desk clerk about it, but nothing was ever done as far as I know.
Though the location is great, this hotel is old and showing its age. If you're looking for something in this area, definitely look elsewhere.
The attached Restaurant had decent food (we only tried it once), but incredibly slow service. We did not return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.