We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for less $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Mc Farland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great location for less $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We wanted to do a family trip to Washington, D.C., but had to watch our spending. This hotel, with a deal I found on Trip Advisor for $140/night, provided us with a very good location, a pool, and a nice stay. We daily walked to the metro or directly to Arlington National Cemetery (and the Iwo Jima statue) and went into the city using Smart passes (which allow you to use the subway and bus). We did not eat at the pizza/pasta restaurant right on the property. We ate at Tom Yum District and at Pho 75 (both on Wilson St), both walking distance from the hotel. We had very full days in the city so we only used the pool twice. However, it was nice to have a refreshing "low impact" option after walking lots. It is a long pool so you could do laps if you wanted (it is not 25yds long). To get to the pool you have to go outside, however, so if it is cold or rainy, this is a bit inconvenient. We had a small fridge and a micro in our room so it was easy to do breakfast in our room before heading out each day. Safeway grocery store is on Wilson St. which is very helpful. OK, what about the room? I was nervous given the reviews saying it's old. We found it just fine. It was definitely clean. The style was like a home built in the 1950s with REAL tile in the bathroom area, porcelain tub, etc. The building structure was solid and contained noise better than most hotels. When things are well-made and they function well, why do they have to be replaced for style?. While the extra sink in the room with the toilet and bath/shower made that a tight room, it was nice to have the two sinks. The beds were comfortable. I had to learn to tuck in the duvet/quilt so my daughter didn't pull it off of me as we slept. Our one glitch was that our car had to be moved from the parking area to the parking garage. There was a blinking light message on our room phone to tell us this, but the sticker on the phone said to call 500 to get messages and that didn't work. The front desk did not pick up when we called, so we neglected to GO TO the front desk. They phoned us during the day when we were in DC city to say we had to move our car for a bus that would use the parking lot, or else be towed. My husband paid for a bike rental to go and take care of it.
All we wanted was a safe, clean place close to DC for our visit and this place really fit the bill. *when looking at prices for hotels, the weekends are much less than the weekdays, which is not what I was used to*

Room Tip: despite airplanes landing at Reagan Airport coming over this locale, we did not have bad noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    307
    174
    63
    82
See reviews for
305
160
54
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently spent three nights at this hotel. On the positive side I slept well each night, but the room looked like it had been furnished and decorated in the 1960s with everything appearing old and seedy.

The Wi-Fi system was the worst of any hotel I've stayed in during the last couple of years. Unless I logged on very early in the morning, e-mail took an eternity to download (when even possible) and some websites would never open.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is quite a disappointment. The location of the hotel is not too bad and the friendliness of the receptionist was okay. Average.
Anything else, especially the rooms and the noise level within, was poor. I've had the King-bed Suite, which more a bunker than a cozy room. The room is cheap, dark and not clean. Especially the bathroom was dirty with plenty of hair from one of the former guests.

There is a courtyard in the center with the rooms around it, just like a motel. Since this is an open space in the center, you experience a lot of noise from cars, coach buses, kids and people at night. I could have spent 1/3 of the price for a nicer motel, if I'd want to stay at a motel!

I'm a diamond-rewards member of Best Western and have seen a lot of BW hotels, but I will never stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Don't spend a fortune on this place. A motel-hotel with ridiculous pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you only care about lowest cost don't expect anything more than a comfortable bed and a hot shower from this place. If you don't mind ants all over your stuff on the vanity overnight, the rusty hinges, vents, shower rod, heater cover or cracked ceiling, well them this place is for you. It's old, and it hasn't really been maintained. They advertise WIFI, but it was accessible less than 25% of the time. There are abandoned wires and piping, the door in the "indoor pool" is almost completely rusted off of it's frame... in fact the entire enclosure around the pool is suspect due to dilapidation. Concrete walkways have peeling paint throughout, the exterior steel staircase is rusty beyond serviceable use in my opinion. During our 3 day stay, the convenient 28 stall upper lot was barricaded off for no apparent reason. I can go on and on, but you get the jist. It's cheap! You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for the main bldg and not across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What an ugly room with cracked paint and ceilings. Good luck trying to sit on the toilet...the paper holder is in your way. The room was smelly, had three tiny pillows for a Queen bed, and they lied about breakfast...not even a donut! There is nothing near by and you got stuck paying $10 for a cheap omelet, toast and soggy hashbrowns. It felt like an emergency hotel on a bad road trip.....the only good part was it has a solid firm bed. It was winter so the pool was in the main building which meant you'd freeze going outside /across to your room. Stay here only if your desperate and bring your own food!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If your looking for 5 star its not here. If your looking for a place to rest between seeing the sights this is the place. We stayed in the main building. Family trip for the daughter to see D.C. for a week. I don't understand most reviews maybe they stayed in the older part of hotel. We had hot water, we couldn't hear anyone talking. The only noise was from planes. And yes there are cameras everywhere outside and the parking garage was safe. No there is no free breakfast but the coffee was awesome!!! The staff that we dealt with was very professional and friendly. Maybe its just everyone's different experiences. I would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: stay in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Noisy refrigerator and heating. cold or boiling shower water. Swarming with ants for no reason. No resolution of insect problem. No breakfast or fruit as advertised.It was a horrific experience that I could not get out of. I wouldn't let my dog stay there.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.