We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok not the best ..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #37 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“it was ok not the best ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

well i assumed that they offered free cont breakfast like the other best westerns did ,so we booked the room for one night .. found out the pics were very misleading they need to take them down so others will not be mislead like i was ..otherwise the staff were not very friendly at all but there was a sweet maid there .. it has easy access to and FREE PARKING which saved us money . room was fine clean .. we might stay again ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    230
    132
    46
    58
See reviews for
216
132
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family stayed here for a weekend. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful. They have rooms on the outside and indoor hallways. I would recommend asking for the indoor hallway. One problem with this place was parking. They have some on top but are very tight. Difficult to get in and out of them. They do have parking in an underground garage with an elevator. This I would highly recommend for parking. They do have a pool which was nice for the kids. But it was hot due to the weather when you were watching them. Tje gaurs at the pool made sure the rules were followed for safety. They have a restaurant we found to be convenient for breakfast. Rooms were kept very clean. Cleaning staff were very helpful on making sure you got the items that you needed. My room however had a refrigerator that did not work. They tried to fix it but it stopped working again on our last day. The hotel is a little hard to find. My GPS could not locate it. The phone one does much better. We went around it several times.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pros: Easy 5-10 minute walk to the Metro (we had 2 kids 10 & 12), used the hotel restaurant adjacent to it (good food- didn't explore the area to see what else was there), pool was fun but only open from 2-10, which was fine because we were exploring during the day, room was clean, staff was very helpful, free parking, would stay here again!! Con: SLOW internet service connection!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights to see Arlington and DC. The rooms were decently clean considering how old the interior and building were. The building smelled old, but it was a place to sleep for a good price in the area. Around 95 a night and only a short subway ride to DC it worked for us.
I liked that we could walk across the bridge to IWO Jima statue.
On our second night there we found a large brown spider in our bathroom (very gross).
Overall I probably would not stay here again, but the hotel served its purpose for that weekend by giving us a place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I travel quite a bit and had just started staying at Best Westerns. This is a hotel that I will never stay at again and do not recommend anyone does. The staff is indifferent as to whether you as a guest or satisfied or not, the lifeguard at the tiny outdoor pool was more interested in what was on his laptop than doing his job. The maid twice cleaned our room but didn't give us towels so I had to hunt her down to get them and then she would only give them to me if she went into the room to see whether I was telling the truth. When I checked out I told these things to the manager at the desk and he could not have been less interested in what I was saying. I was surprised because earlier in the month I had stayed at the Best Western Fairfax and they were wonderful. Do not give this establishment your time or money, definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. We were in the older part of the hotel and had to carry our luggage up the steps to the second floor. This may be a problem for older travelers but was ok for us. The room was clean and spacious. I really liked the separate sink and counter which made it easier for 3 females and 1 male to get ready each morning. The hotel was quiet, I did hear the planes flying over the first night, but nothing after that. Traffic was not a problem either. This hotel does not offer free breakfast, but there is a restaurant attached next door. We order pizza and a salad the first night and had breakfast 2 mornings here. Both were very good and not too expensive. We did come back the last evening @9:30 and was hoping for more pizza but they were closed so we just ordered from Poppa Johns.
The walk to Rossalyn station took 7 minutes to walk and we felt very safe in doing so.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Was clean and well maintained definitely could use some paint and polish staff was helpful and the Lifeguard was a wealth of knowledge about area talk to him. If you want information close 10-7 min walk to Rosslyn station. Only downside was we were in old motel area and the ice machine in area was Broken the entire time we were there and had to o to second floor of newer building to get ice kind of inconvenient and a Hassle

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.