We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I liked and What I didn't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #37 of 47 hotels in Arlington
IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What I liked and What I didn't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My Husband and I plus our 11 year old grandson stayed at this hotel April 1, 2, 3. It was more of a motel than a hotel. The staff was helpful giving us directions and handouts of where to eat close to the hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. The location is pretty safe and walkable to the Iwo Jima Memorial and Arlington National Cemetery. This hotel is within six blocks of the subway. The parking at the hotel is free.

There is not a breakfast included at this Best Western. There is a pizza restaurant next door but was closed. I believe they serve breakfast but was not available for us. The pool is not very inviting and needs upgrading. It is opened from only 2p.m. - 10p.m. It is large but seems very old. My advice is spend a little more money and get a better hotel. Fortunately the weather was nice in DC so we did lots of touring. Would not have been happy spending much time in our room and in this hotel. I think that is a pretty honest review. Pros and Cons.

Room Tip: Get an interior room not an exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    230
    132
    46
    58
See reviews for
216
132
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We atayes in this hotel for 2 days and it was really good. The reception was helpfull and the check in went fast. The room was really big and the bed was huge. Everything was clean and we had a fridge and a microwave. The hotel is a 8min walk to the subway. So it is a cheap and relaxt way to visit washington. I would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 days. The first room they put us in was in the "motel" part of the hotel and the refrigerator and the alarm clock did not work. The tiles in the bathroom did not match and it appeared very old. They offered to refrigerate our food in the staff refrigerator, and brought us another alarm clock. The WiFi was spotty at best. We were ready to check out after one night and stay somewhere else but they offered to move us to the new part of the hotel (that had an elevator!). Our room was quiet and sufficient, but we had to go to the office so many times (not enough towels, shampoo) and the ice machines did not work most of the time in the whole building. We did not have a problem with the WiFi in the newer buidling. Parking was free which was a real benefit and the location is close to a metro and right across the river from Georgetown. The staff was VERY accommodating and did everything possible to fix our problems. I do not think I would stay in this hotel again because it wasted too much time trying to get the problems fixed.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the location, about a 6 min walk to the Metro! The hotel itself is old and in need of some repair and cleaning. I booked a "courtyard" room as I was lead to believe that the pool was attached to these rooms.... wrong. The pool was outside in a "green-house" type building, unattached to any part of the hotel. My kids (9 & 13) were "grossed out" by the pool and the lone lifeguard, hence they did not use it during our 4 day stay! The rooms inside the hotel building may be in better condition? Our room (115) had paper thin walls, you could hear everything in the surrounding rooms, the airplanes & street traffic. The attached restaurant was closed ( so much for the pizza review). I had to also park in the garage as there was not enough parking spaces in the lot... Every day I found my car covered with garage ceiling "stuff" that the birds knocked around. If you are looking for a place to crash, close to DC... I suppose this will work for you... I do not think I would stay he again myself

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights and overall everything was generally good. There are some noise issues, we were in the "courtyard" (opens onto the parking lot) on the first floor. There is some expected neighbor noise here, what was not expected is that they let tour buses park in the lot and they start up early in the morning. Our first morning we were woken up by 3 different buses starting up in the parking lot about an hour apart. One night they decided to work on the roof of the restaurant at 11:30 pm, loud ladders and people, not great for sleeping. I would not recommend these rooms if you are light sleeper. The only other issue we had was the hot water. For the first few days the shower was adequate and then..... nothing, or I should say loud moaning and a trickle. Called the front desk, they said they would send somebody, left for dinner, came back, no difference. Called again, maintenance man came and couldn't fix it, said he would make sure a plumber came the next day. Next day, no plumber, no fix. Hotel offered to let us shower in another room, makes me think this is a known problem. Next day no plumber again but a note saying the plumber would be in the following day. They offered to move us to another room, but after 7 nights that was not a great option. Plumber finally came, replaced the shower head and the shower worked great! All in all since we were only sleeping here, the rooms was clean, most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was okay, was impressed there was a lifeguard on duty.

Room Tip: As stated above the courtyard rooms are loud with parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this motel based on the reviews. I should have read them better! I went with my family. We have two kids 6 and 4. We were in the outside building.

Pros:
1. Close walk to the metro
2. Generally clean
3. Close walk to several places to eat

Cons:
1. The shower - There was no water pressure and the water was impossible to keep one temperature. Whenever you tried to adjust the temperature, the pipes moaned LOUDLY. I asked to be moved to the inner building, but the front desk said the rooms with two queens were only in the outside building.
2. The loud pipes were all over the outside building, so they woke us up early in the morning and late at night when neighbors showered.
3. The outside building is OLD! There was a fuse box in the room.
4. The pool is only open from 2-10 pm and the water was warm, 84 degrees or so, but the air was less than 80 degrees, so getting out was really unpleasant!

Understand that you will be compromising to stay here!

Room Tip: If you do stay here, and you don't need two Queen beds, make sure to request the rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.