We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay near all of the action.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Rome, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great stay near all of the action.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed here twice now over the past couple of months, both stays being for a few nights and I can not say enough good things about the place. The location is great, the nearest Metro station is about a five minute walk away and just two train stops from all of the action on the mall. The check in folks are very polite and professional and make you truly feel valued as a guest. The hotel is clean, modern, and very well maintained. There is a pool that looks like it was once an outdoor pool that was converted into an indoor pool, very nice to have as an option. I've stayed in both the interior corridor rooms as well as the outdoor corridor rooms and found that both were very nice and modern. I would stay here again in a heart beat and know that at the end of my journey I had this nice hotel to greet me in DC. To top it all off FREE PARKING!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    246
    145
    50
    61
See reviews for
245
134
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My stay was pleasant and I have no complaints. Check in was quick and easy, parking was not a problem. We had two separate rooms, and they accommodated us, and kept us next to each other. easy access to the DC area, and the Marine Memorial is within walking distance. Semper Fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was excited to find a hotel fairly close to a metro stop so that my daughter and I could visit some sights in Washington, DC. When we arrived, the staff was very gracious. My room was not in the main building but was in the adjacent building from the registration desk. While there was a covered walkway, it did not extend to the entire space needed to access my room. There was no means of getting to the room, without getting wet, if it was raining. It rained on our third day in town. We got wet trying to get to the registration desk and taxi. We were headed to our visit at the U.S. Capitol. I arrived wet. Not my best look.

The biggest draw back however, was not the uncovered walkway. It was the bathroom. Our bathroom needed much work. The tiled floor constantly looked dirty. The tiles on the wall in the shower are stained and dirty. The white between the tiles looks dirty. The shower curtain bar appeared to be ready to fall any day. The vent (fan) in our bathroom did not work at all. Thus, the overall needs of the bathroom were many.

As a business practice, hotels should provide two (2) bath mats whenever there are more than two people scheduled to stay in the room. Four people cannot dry their feet after stepping out of the shower onto the same mat. Thus, I constantly had to ask for additional bath mats. This is particularly bothersome in cold weather environments and where you have glass tile on the floors. During our stay, the temperatures dropped sometimes to 26 degrees and we had glass tiled floors in the bathroom.

Furthermore, the non-stick mats inside the bath tub needed to be changed. It visibly looked dirty. One can hardly feel clean after using a dingy surface for bathing. The non-stick surface appears to be a preventive measure. In this instance, it prevented us from feeling like the tub had been cleaned by the housekeeping staff.

The refrigerator was clean and so was the microwave. To my surprise, there was no closet, only an area near the sink to hang clothes. There were two sinks - on inside the area with the tub and toilet; one outside that bathroom. The lighting was adequate and smartly laid out. The lamp between the beds had two (2) bulbs, each one operated by a different switch so that the individuals in each bed could determine how much lighting they wanted.

My other tidbit of information is important for anyone who cannot (or does not want) to use stairs. I was told that all rooms with two (2) queen size beds were in the adjacent building. Not one was inside the main building which allowed elevator access. Thus, it is quite taxing to lug up several filled suitcases to the rooms which had the two queen beds. Fortunately, we were on the second floor. Unfortunately, we had four filled suitcases.

I felt safe in the area of the hotel. The metro stop was about a 7-10 minute walk away. The front desk staff had directions to some of the sights tourists would want to visit. We appreciate the staff for their courtesy, promptness, and complete desire to assist us.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queen size beds do not have elevator access. If you want or need to use the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room on 2nd floor right above reception. Finishes in good shape, clean, very quiet. Stayed for 6 nights. Attractive for price and location. About an 8 minute walk to Metro; closer would have been nice, but then price would probably be higher. Still a reasonably short walk, but I wasn't dropping by during the day. Wifi speed in room was decent. Iron and board was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

For the money, this place is great !!!!! Very nice people , clean and a short walk to the metro. Which by tha way is the best way to get around DC. I have only visited the area three times but I will only stay in Arlington , much less expensive and seems like the people are more friendly !

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Chose this place for free parking and proximity to Metro. Stayed in a 2-double room right by the pool. Clean, comfortable, convenient--easy access to DC, fridge and microwave nice features. It was pretty noisy--any noise in the hall came right into the room. THe restaurant on-site was a decent pizzeria. The pool was great, but the pool area was freezing--it's in a glass atrium w/no heat, so the water's warm but the air wasn't! The kids loved it, though! Overall great option for low-budget trip to DC--I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building with the pool if you want an inside access room, the other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.