We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,good price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Falls Wyoming County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location,good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is in a good location,just outside metro DC. It's about 1/2 mile walk to the metro which is clean,fast and very easy to use. The pool was large and there was a lifeguard on duty so you can allow older children to go swimming while relaxing in your room or on the patio. The front desk staff was excellent! I very highly recommend booking the DC at night tour at the front desk. The tour shuttle comes right to the hotel to pick you up! It is a great hotel at a great price. Parking is free and it is very easy-in and out! There is a restaurant right next door that is open for breakfast and up until 10 at night. The food is good and the prices reasonable.I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool area since it open until 10 and if you retire early,the noise can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    261
    151
    52
    63
See reviews for
254
144
44
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the month of October. We found it a great location. We cabbed it over to the DC side for $10-15 each day which took us directly to where we wanted to go along with many helpful tips from the cab drivers. Much cheaper than using the tour companies with less walking to get where you wanted to be and no worrying about parking.. Our room was wonderful. It was next to the street but there was no street noise at all. The bed was perfect, two comfortable chairs for relaxing, well appointed bathroom, good tv and internet. Good coffee, muffins and fruit offered in the lobby for snacks. Pool/patio area was excellent. Indoor parking was free and we were realived the ceiling was just high enough for our 4x4 pickup to go into. I would reccommend this hotel as we want to return to Washington DC to tour again and would definitely stay at this Best Western again..

Room Tip: Thursday, Friday, Saturday are the cheap nights to stay. Sunday-Wednesday more expensive. Business a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddam, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Was probably an old two story Quality Inn or something similar that they added a tower of rooms to the front of. Very good service, room was well done, beds were very comfortable. Recently updated room. Pool was old but well maintained, warm and clean. Pizza place associated with them was great. Good breakfast there. Great area, 3 blocks from Metro, 2 blocks from Iwo Jima memorial / Arlington. Easy bike ride to Washington. Lots of good resturants within walking distance. Will go back again. FREE PARKING, FREE INTERNET.

Room Tip: There are two types of room, the older section (we stayed there, fine) and a new multi-story tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just got back from a trip to DC for Spring Break. We stayed at the Best Western for 2 of the nights we visited. The hotel is conveniently located to the metro station (about a 10 minute walk) and a good selection of restaurants within walking distance.
The staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Our room was located on the 2nd floor of the detached part of the hotel. It was a kind of dark room since not a lot of sunlight entered because of way the rooms faced the interior parking lot. The room was clean but could definitely have used some updates. Most importantly, more outlets for chargers, etc. It was nice that the room had a microwave and small fridge.
We tried a couple of restaurants walking distance from the hotel that were pretty good, although pricey (But it seems like all restaurants were expensive in the DC area!). Guajill Restaurant (mexican) and Ruby Tuesday. Both are located on Wilson Blvd.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent 3 days in DC and were looking for something reasonable as far as price is concerned. Knowing some BW´s, we decided for this one. Location is good at only 10 minutes by foot from the Rosslyn metro station, the staff was very kind and helpfull the whole time and the beds were fine to me.

However, there are some things that would make me think twice if I would return or not : The hotel, at least the basement floor is too noisy, with an ice machine next to the rooms that really bothers you. The doors of other rooms opening and closing are also very noisy. The furniture needs urgently an update, specially the bathroom and the wi fi must work properly. It was very irritating and fustrating trying to surf on the net . Impossible task most of the times.Extremely low connex and lost the whole time. I do not know why they advertise that they have wifi if it does not work as it must do in an hotel.
Gyus, try another provider or make it pay if it would fix the problem !
At the end, I had to use the lobby computer.


So, good choice for the price but I do not know if I would return...

Room Tip: Try to have rooms not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Sergeik69,

On behalf of the new management of the Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, we thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear that you found the property location so convenient. I do apologize for the concerns you mentioned. I am happy to inform you that we are already quickly working on an alternative to the existing WiFi set up. We hope to have this solution implemented within a few short weeks.
If your travels bring you back to the Washington DC area, we hope that you choose our hotel again!

Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel that is minutes from the Washington,DC area. Hotel is located near highways leading to and from major roadways and very close to the airport. Hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the bed was very soft if you prefer soft mattresses. Free parking is available in either indoor garage or outdoor lot. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something inexpensive and close to Washington. Great for short stays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear James L,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I read many, many reviews and looked at many hotels before deciding where to stay for our recent trip to DC. I chose this partly due to the Best Western name and also due to the price and reviews. It was all right. The room was clean for the most part although the bathroom was in need of an update and behind the beds/corners were pretty dusty/dirty. But the beds were very comfortable and the room was pretty clean. It would have been nice to have the coffeemaker in a place where it could actually be plugged in - I had to move it every day. The refrigerator in our room was VERY noisy. We were in an interior room away from the road and noise was not a problem and there weren't that many stairs to go up with our heavy bags. I didn't bring my laptop so it was nice to have a computer to use. The day we checked out we were able to check our bags at the front desk and it was a secure location, I felt safe leaving them. I did overhear one of the desk clerks giving incorrect sightseeing information to someone - it is NOT true that you need to have advance tickets to the Holocaust Museum...you can show up any morning and hope to get tickets for sometime that day, people need to just check their website. This hotel is about an 8 minute walk to the Metro, deli and pharmacy. We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times due to the fact that it was so close. It is a very dirty/grimy place and I really hated having to eat there...that place needs a thorough cleaning, every inch of it. I'm uncertain if I would stay here again or not...probably.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the back on the upper floor but keep in mind there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear vagabondmom1,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.