We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Virginian Suites Arlington to your Saves list
Virginian Suites Arlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

This former apartment building converted to suite hotel is the perfect place for families visiting DC. The suite are roomy...we had 6 people staying in a 1 bedroom with 2 double beds, sofa bed and a roll-away and we could still walk around. Kitchen is small but efficient. We had sandwiches and snack for everyone but only cooked 1 night. Only enough dishes/glassware/silverware for 4 people but we bought paper plates/plastic cups and silverware. Worked out great!

No complaints from my teenagers and friend about the beds. Event he sofa sleeper and roll-away were comfortable. Bathroom was again small but efficient. A bit retro in design, but that is "in" nowadays, isn't it?

Great staff too! Each request we had (more towels, extra room key, restaurant suggestions, etc) were answered with a friendly smile and knowledgable response. Laundry facilities were great to have..do you know how many times teenage girls change clothes in1 day? Shuttle to/from Rosslyn Metro station was great...althought we usually missed it at night as we stayed out too late. Safe to walk to/from station, even in a small group; it was a bit far after walking all day in DC. The teens loved the pool the 1 time they got to use it. Pool closes a bit early in my opinion (I think 8pm if I remember correctly but don't quote me), would be nice to have ti to relax in after a long day in DC.

Car parked at the hotel most of the time for $7.00/day (a steal in DC!) . Lighted and safe.

***************TIPS************************
Harris Teeter Neighborhood Market at Glebe Road and Randolph St...about 1 1/2 - 2 miles west of hotel. Good selection and prices.

Convenience store within walking distance.

Walk to Iwo Jima Memorial (1 block) and Arlington National Cemetery

Most restaurants around Rosslyn Metro station were closed by 9pm in June. Not much to choose from otherwise.

Twilight Tatoo at Fort McNair (Metro Waterfront-SEU stop), summer months (already concluded for 2010). Fantastic free show with several military units performing, meet and greet after the preformance, ask questions, take pictures and see the vehicles/ordinance.

Air and Space Museum, Udvar-Hazy Center near Dulles Airport - THE place to go if you are interested in vintage aircraft. Great accompaniment to the Air and Space Museum on the Mall.

Smithsonian Museums only open until 5:30 pm so get there early to see everything.

Wonderful sculpture garden across from the National Archives. Take a break near the fountain on a hot, humid DC day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
These are great tips, and we could not have said it any better!! As far as utensils and other kitchen needs, the next time you visit us do not hesitate to ask if you need additional items. We have plenty of extra utensils for our guests to use. Thank you for positive feedback about our staff. We will be sure to tell all of our staff members how much of a great job they are doing when it comes to taking care of our guests. A 10 to 15 minute walk can feel like a marathon after walking all day around DC in the humidity, especially on days that surpass the 100 degree mark. That’s where our pool comes in handy! Our pool hours are from 10am to 9pm, from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Parking is actually $9.00/day, which is still a steal in DC where parking fees range from the high $20’s to mid $30’s. Visit us again the next time you are in the DC region!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    226
    69
    42
    27
See reviews for
166
122
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Just ended a two day stay at the Virginian. We had a great stay. The staff was very helpful and the location is excellent. We parked our car for free (with AAA) and never moved it. It is a 10 minute walk to the Metro with a fairly short ride into DC. The kitchen came in very handy. We walked to a nearby convenience store to get food for breakfast and had food delivered in for supper both nights. The kitchen was stocked with every thing we needed to cook breakfast and heat up leftovers. Only thing missing was soap for the dishwasher. We walked to Arlington Cemetery and the Iwo Jima Memorial. We felt totally safe walking and all the people in the neighborhood were friendly and helpful when we needed directions. The business center was helpful as we changed travel plans and I was able to print out a new AAA Trip Tik for no charge. The pool area was a little small but fine for what little time we spent there. We had a studio with a queen bed and a sofa bed, The only thing that wasn't great was the sofa bed. The kids had a little trouble getting comfortable on it due to the hardware but they slept fine once they fell asleep. It was really nice to have the separate bedroom so we could spread out when we were relaxing in the room. I would definitely stay at the Virginian again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Your comment regarding how you would “definitely stay at the Virginian again” brings a smile from ear to ear to all of us here. We are overjoyed we were able to make your trip to the DC area easy and enjoyable. We are located in a very safe area, and we are fortunate to have neighbors that are both friendly and helpful. We agree having two complimentary computers to use is extremely helpful and convenient, since almost everything is done online nowadays. Don’t forget that our front desk staff is always ready to answer questions regarding anything from directions to assisting in travel changes. We can’t wait to for your next visit!! On behalf of the Virginian Suites Arlington, thank you for the excellent feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

my husband and i traveled with a group to the DC area for a wedding the weekend of the 4th of july. one of the things i have always wanted to do was see arlington national cemetery. it's a 15 minute walk. the other monuments are easily within walking distance as well, and most no more than a 10 minute walk! we stayed for 5 days, so we made good use of the kitchen. there was no soap to do dishes, so we were going to grab some on our next trip to the store. we went out for the day and when we came back, the housekeeping staff had loaded and run the dishwasher for us! the one issue i had was that everything was glass...plates, bowls, cups, etc. while wonderful for adults, not good for my 3 year old that was with us. but if that's the worst thing, i'm over it! the bed was not the most comfortable, but most hotel beds aren't! we didn't make use of the pool, though i'm sure it would have felt incredibly good seeing as we were there at the beginning of that nasty heatwave! we went into DC several times, and the metro station is about a 10 minute walk. I love the whole area and how eco-minded it seems to be. when you ask for directions at the front desk, they don't tell you how to drive there...it's how to walk there. LOVE IT! but then again, with everything within walking distance, there's no need to drive!

this was a great hotel, in a great location, with great amenities...can you tell i thoroughly enjoyed my long weekend/vacation? we were even able to watch the DC fireworks from outside the cemetery...what a feeling!

there is a chance i will be in DC again next july, and i plan to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Thank you so much for your high praises!! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly, your visit to our Nation’s Capital!! Experiencing the 4th of July fireworks in DC is a beautiful and breathtaking experience. Having five days to explore our area and DC must have been fantastic! Next time you visit the Virginian Suites Arlington, please let us know where you would like to go, we’ll tell you how to WALK there! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We recently returned from a stay in Washington DC at The Virginian Suites.

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and when we arrived early they offered to hold our luggage in their secure back room prior to check in. The Breakfast was well worth the slight extra fee. The Metro is about a 10 min walk and they also have a shuttle bus which runs approx every 15 min if you don't wish to walk to the Metro.

Again thank you to the staff of the Virginia Suites for helping to make our vacation an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to thank all of our staff for a job well done. Thank you for your high recommendation, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel is an excellent place to stay while visiting the area. It provides free bus service to and from the metro. Rooms are well appointed, beds are relaxing. The rooms come with a kitchen so you can cook in your room to save more money. A very good breakfast is provided at an extra cost which is well worth it. Bathroom is outdated but still very good. Outdoor is a great place to spend some time relaxing in between site seeing. Every staff member I encountered went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. You can walk to Arlington Cematary, Iwo Jima, and even Georgetown if you want.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
We believe in providing exceptional customer service, and strive to make that the rule and not the exception. At the Virginian Suites Arlington, when you stay with us you’re not only a guest of the hotel but also a guest in our home. It is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your needs during your stay! Thank you again for your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at the Virginian suites from 7/16 - 7/19 in a studio suite. For starters I don't think we could have asked for a better hotel. From the staff at the front desk who went out of the way to be friendly and helpful to the excellent conditon of our room, everything was more than we could have hoped for.

The room had a fully stocked kitchen (Pots, Pans, Plates, Silverware, Glasses, Coffee Pot, Ice Trays which had ice in them [something often overlooked]). The dishwasher had soap inside in a small packet so that it could be run if necessary. The housekeeping staff put our dishes in the dishwasher for us if we left them in the sink, but they left it for us to run, which was fine with us. (No reason to run it with 2 plates in it.)

The hotel is within walking distance to the Iwo Jima memorial and the Arlington National Cemetary. The Rosslyn Metro station is technically within walking distance, although we never did. The heat index was around 111 when we were in DC, and since we did so much walking when we were downtown, we decided to take the tram or if necessary a taxi, which never cost more than $6.00 for 2 people.

The shuttle that is run between the hotel and the metro station only runs M-F. I am not sure when it starts, but it was always running when we wanted to leave, which was around 0800 in the morning. Apparently the driver takes lunch between 12 -1 and the shuttle stops running from 2-4. The only problem we had with the hotel stemmed from the shuttle. We were unaware that they wouldn't be running from 12-1 to cover the driver's lunch break. After sitting at the Rosslyn stop for nearly 20 minutes without seeing a shuttle, I called the hotel to make sure that I didn't need to let them know I needed picked up. They informed me that the shuttle runs every 10-15 minutes that that someone should be there very shortly. 45 minutes later we had not been picked up and I called the hotel yet again. This time I was informed that the driver had been on lunch the entire time, but was just then getting ready to leave the hotel to come pick us up. This aggravated me slightly, as had I known that the driver was on his break I would have just taken a taxi. There were about 12 or so people waiting on the shuttle when it came, all complaining about the same thing, so apparently we weren't the only ones to call the hotel numerous times. Other than this slight mishap, however, the shuttle ran on time and we had no trouble.

On Monday we were to check out by 11, but we were also scheduled to tour the Capitol Building at 1330. On check out I asked the front desk clerk if I could leave our car parked at the hotel after we checked out. They said that it would be fine for us to leave the car there. For whatever reason I was not charged for parking for any of the days I was there, either. I asked the front desk about them and they said not to worry about it, so I didn't.

All in all I'd say the Virginian Suites are a fantastic value. The staff were more than helpful. There were only two computers in the lobby that were often in use, so sometimes I had to wait to get on the internet, but then again I could have just brought my own if I was that worried about it. I will definitely stay at the Virginian suites again if I am ever in the Arlington/DC area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. It’s wonderful to see our staff, from front desk to housekeeping, went above and beyond to meet your needs. We apologize for the inconvenience you incurred with regards to our shuttle. This problem has been addressed to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Waiting for more than 10 minutes for a shuttle in this weather can feel like forever. Once again, we are profoundly sorry for this incident. However, we are relieved this was the only issue you encountered, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed in this hotel a week and loved it! It's just across the river from D.C., a 10-minutes walk to the metro when the shuttle isn't running, walking distance to Arlington Nat'l. Cemetery.

The suite option was great for us, especially with the kitchen and a daily shuttle to the grocery store. Coming back from a day in D.C. and being able to spread out with three kids vs. all on top of each other in just one motel room was wonderful! Great pool, exercise room and other amenities.

Mostly though, the staff were extremely helpful. All of our requests were taken care of right away; they even got us a fan for our room within about 20 minutes! They were extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

The rooms were clean, kitchen and bathroom a bit small, but that was no big deal. Having a separate bedroom and pull-out couch made our stay much more casual and enjoyable.

We highly recommend this place, would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Suites Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.