We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, friendly staff, and convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Save Saved
You added Virginian Suites Arlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place, friendly staff, and convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Our family returned from our D.C trip last weekend. We chose Virginian Suites because of the reviews we read from recent visitors. It was all that we expected. Our suite was comfortable, clean and very roomy. There were four of us, my husband, myself and our two teenage daughters. We had a one bedroom suite with two queens, plus a pull-out sofa sleeper in the living room. The kitchen was an asset for us - saved us $$ on meals. The shuttle to the metro during the week saved on our feet. The pool was nice and I was impressed to see that they have a life guard on duty. Members of housekeeping staff were always friendly and courteous and the front desk staff were very helpful and always took the time to answer our questions. This hotel is also very conveniently located (right across the river from downtown Washington, D.C.) in a nice residential neighborhood. We walked all around the neighborhood and felt very safe. There were two convenience stores within a couple of blocks and the shuttle also does runs to the nearest Safeway. It's also only a few blocks from the nearest metro station. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation, even in the 90 degree temps! Without a doubt, we would stay here again if traveling to Washington D.C. in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind words about our staff members as well as our hotel! It seems as if the hot Washington D.C. weather could not deter you from exploring our quiet residential area. The entire region has a had a finicky weather pattern these past six months, going from three massive winter storms to the current sizzling temperatures. Having a pool is a must here at the Virginian Suites, especially after walking even just a few blocks. We’re overjoyed to see you will return to us the next time you visit Washington D.C., “Without a doubt,” Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    213
    64
    41
    27
See reviews for
150
113
41
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was our second time staying here. First was 6 mos. prior to bury my father at Arlington Cemetery. This place was recommended by a friend in the military. We loved it! They took such good care of us and were sensitive to why we were there. The room was very nice, with great accomodations - a fully equipped kitchen. They arranged for my sister's room to be on the same floor as mine, even though she had booked much later than I. The whole visit was such a good feeling that we came back for the Cherry Blossoms and again stayed at The Virginian Suites. This time it was just as nice and welcoming. The front desk is especially helpful and went out of their way to get us directions to two of the out of the way places we wanted to see. And Wednesday night Pizza Party - another unexpected warm touch. This place is friendly, clean, a good value, and in a great area. With their shuttle, it's easy to get to anywhere in the area. I have recommended them to several of my friends, one of whom is booked there for a 3 night trip right after the 4th of July with 14 of her family members. We are planning another trip back to Washington in the early Fall, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
We would like to thank you for choosing our establishment six months ago while you laid to rest one of our nation’s honored veterans, your father. We are honored you chose to return to us during the Cherry Blossom festival. The blossoms are truly breathtaking at full bloom, and thankfully, the weather was cooperative this year. We are also pleased you were able to join us during our weekly pizza parties catered by one of our neighborhood’s favorite pizzerias. They make the pies just right. Thank you for recommending us to your colleagues for the Fourth of July weekend, which is another breath taking event when witnessed at the nation’s capital. We look forward to your next visit this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Located just outside DC, Virginian Suites offers a nice cozy place to stay. The rates offered in other hotel websites are however much cheaper than those offered in the Virginian Suites website!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
We apologize if you found our rates a little higher than other hotels in the Arlington area. We encourage you to keep an eye out for any specials we offer year round. Please be advised, we offer discount rates to repeat guests. We are charmed you found our hotel a “nice cozy place to stay”, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This was a weekend birthday trip to DC for me. We stayed from Friday and checked out on Monday. I had already reviewed the website so I knew what to except from the suite. We choose this hotel because of the price, cheap parking fee, easy walk to metro, and the fact that it had a kitchen. The room was booked before the end of May for our stay from June 11th to the 14th. The rate we got was I think 83 or 85 dollars a night plus taxes. Which came out to less then $100 a night. And the $7 parking fee was good also. Trust me when I say this I had looked at many many hotels in the DC area as well as Arlington and all most all of them had high parking fees. $23 to $30. So we were happy when I found this hotel with $7 parking.

We arrived maybe about 5pm or a little after 5pm. Parked the car unloaded a few things, went in and was greeted by Neal. A very nice greeting. Easy check in with no problems and we were even asked how was the drive down from NYC. Our room was suite 915 (a studio suite). Like i said before I had been on The Virginian Suites website many times so I know just about how the room was going to be. It had every thing we would of needed (utensils, plates, cups, coffee maker, dishwasher, a full kitchen, towels and such in the bathroom, an extra pillow and blanket in the closet). We however brought our own towels, rags, kitchen stuff, and soap so most of the things the were provided we didn't need to use. But thanks Virginian Suites for providing it. The bed I am not sure what size it was but i think it was a queen size.

My only complaints about the hotel is that the soap they have in the bathroom is so small it's a good thing we brought our own from home and just use theirs as a hand soap. The cutting board in the kitchen looked alil dirty or needs replaces. I didn't us it at all. The rugs were a little stained but was ok.

We drove over to Safeway and got food/drinks. So we didn't have to worry about places to eat. We were set for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, and drinks. they sell beer, wine and champagne. I think we could of walked there but not in that heat and not after the drive down from NYC. And the parking is free. We spent around $54 at Safeway on food for our stay. I do believe if we weren't stay here our cost for food would of been so much more.

Neal was very nice and friendly when he saw us. always saying hi and saying if there is anything we needing help with to let him know. The hotels is a nice little walk from the Metro. some people mention the uphill walk but I found that one side of the street was less hilly then the other so I tried to say on the side. It was nice to be able to get up, get ready, have breakfast in the room that I fixed then go out to DC Sightseeing, come back have a late lunch and relax. We had a front view but it was ok. I liked it. Checkout went ok even with a larger group of soldiers checking in. Parking fee was paid for at checkout with no problem. I didn't get a chance to use or see the pool or gym. I did look into the laundry room. It's was ok but not for me to use. I need a window to look out of.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at The Virginian suites and next time we're visiting DC and the rates ware still really good and its not booked up we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
We are thrilled you found our hotel right for your needs! You are absolutely correct with regards to the parking fee. Around Arlington and downtown Washington DC, it is normal to see parking fees range in mid to high 20’s. Having a full kitchen is also extremely convenient and economical, especially when one is on a budget. We will be sure to pass on the praises to Neal, one of our rock stars that guests cannot seem to get enough of. Being genuinely friendly and hospital are qualities we strive for all of our employees, and Neal excels at both of them. We are overjoyed as well that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all of your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Very pleased with the hotel - it is not a luxury hotel, but is very clean, comfortable and welcoming. The staff was very friendly during check-in and were very helpful and patient with restaurant suggestions and directions (2 great places: Rays for Steak was unbelievable and Pizza Paradiso was outstanding). The lobby is not grand but does have comfy couches, a computer area with 2 available computers and a printer (nice for airline check-in and boarding passes). My husband loved the delicious coffee available 24/7!

Our room (#402) was huge - we had 2 queen beds and could have easily fit a 3rd! The kitchen was nicely appointed - small stove, microwave, refrigerator and sink. It was great for heating up leftovers and making breakfast (avoid hotel breakfast - $12 for a continental style offering). The beds were very comfy. We had a very large desk (that doubled as a table) with ample plugs for charging phones and devices (I hate it when you have to go searching for plugs behind furniture!). The internet and wireless was free and worked consistently well. Also had a small couch (with hide-a-bed) and a nice chair for reading - large windows allowed lots of natural light. Also had a large flat screen t.v. that could easily be seen from anywhere in the room. Bathroom was small but did have a connecting closet / dressing room that housed a safe, luggage rack, clothes rack, large storage shelf and enough room to leave the ironing board set up.

Location in Arlington is not bad as long as you plan well. The nearest Metro stop is Rosslyn. The hotel describes the stop as a 10 minute walk - maybe if you're an athlete! I would say it is more like a 20 minute walk, and beware, a large portion is uphill on the way back, which makes it seem longer because you are so tired from walking all day at the sights. The hotel does have a very convenient shuttle that runs to the Rosslyn stop (and back) every 10 minutes, but plan accordingly - it does not run on weekends or between 2 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. on the weekdays. It also stops running at 7:30 p.m., so you will either have to walk or make alternate plans if you are going to be out late.

The hotel does have ample parking and it is $7 a day - a real bargain for parking in the Washington D.C. area!

The hotel is in a nice, neighborhood area but is not very close to any restaurants or shops (there is 1 small market and restaurant behind the hotel). To get to restaurants, you would either have to walk to Georgetown (15-20 minutes) or take a cab. The area near the Rosslyn Metro stop also has a McDonald's and some restaurants nearby.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would patronize this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
We are extremely happy you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and welcoming which are three of the most important qualities a hotel can offer! We are equally pleased that our staff stood out as being so helpful and patient. We are all here to assist every one of our guests with everything and anything they may need. Thank you for recognizing those qualities from our desk staff. We agree that having a business center is extremely convenient, especially when you have to print out boarding passes or if you just feel like surfing the web. It is great you found our location suitable for all your needs while you were visiting the Nation’s Capital. The next time you stay at the Virginian Suites, explore the Clarendon area of Arlington, located approximately 10 minutes from us, on Clarendon and Wilson Blvd. There are several restaurants located back to back of each other. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I stayed here with my family of 4, for vacation, 3 nights. The building itself is no big deal, but it really fit our needs. The room was spacious and the kitchen was extremely useful.
Negatives: toilet was funky (the handle was broken), elevators were very small (only 2 of them), air conditioning was noisy, small workout room (very stuffy, but its there...), beds were old and too soft, and housekeeping forgot to bring up extra towels that we needed.
Positives: Free shuttle to the Metro (and even to Safeway!), swimming pool with life guard, friendly staff, very close to Iwo Jima memorial & Arlington Cemetery.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
We are sorry to hear you found our amenities not up to your standards. We will be sure to address the issues you mentioned to both our housekeeping and engineering staff, as most of the things you mentioned are easily remedied. On the plus side, we are happy you enjoyed our shuttle service, the swimming pool, our friendly staff, and our location, which is definitely worth the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Booked the Virginian well in advance so got a great rate.
The location is fantastic, close to the Metro and great shops in Roslyn.
As for the hotel, it was worth what we paid, around $130 a night for a suite. Bedding is nice and comfortable. Unfortunately like most hotels the thin walls and noisy air conditioners can make for a sleepless night, especially if it is peak season, but only if you are a light sleeper.
Yes i would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
It is wonderful to hear you felt our hotel was worth what you paid for. You made a great choice for booking your reservations well in advanced. A great benefit about booking with the Virginian Suites Arlington is that you can book in advance, but are able to cancel 24 hours prior to arrival with no penalty. Booking in advance is a great way to save money, something we are happy you took advantage of. If you prefer a quieter room, the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital, inquire about one of our corner rooms located on a higher floor. We are delighted to see you will stay with us again, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Suites Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.