We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family trip to Washington, DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Save Saved
You added Virginian Suites Arlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for family trip to Washington, DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife, our two small children, and I stayed in the hotel last week.
All I want to say, it is great for the family trip to Washington, DC.
We paid $119 per night for one bedroom suite + $7 per day for parking.
Very good location. 8 minutes to walk to Metro station. 15 minutes drive to the National Mall area (in medium traffic).
Very good service, clean rooms. If we ever needed anything the staff were ready to help right away

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    209
    64
    41
    26
See reviews for
147
112
41
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I read plenty reviews before settling on the Virginian Suites, but ultimately decided on the price and the convenience.

The staff are really friendly, efficient and helpful. Had no problem with them. The room we choose, a studio that has a queen bed a pull-out bed couch, kitchen with all the essentials, was clean and complemented with brochures. There was a large TV, and a distant wi-fi signal that barely reaches the room, I reccomend going down to the lobby where its better.

There was no breakfast or such, we knew that beforehand, so we knew we had to bring some basic things for cooking, other things we had to buy in a supermarket that is somewhat far from the hotel but nothing too distant. The shuttle service to the Metro station and back is very convenient, specially in the afternoon.

I reccomend this hotel to anyone travelling to D.C, the hotel keeps improving.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My family spent three nights at the hotel. Unfortunately, we did not receive much help from the front desk. Same gal. She appeared to be overworked. We were never told about the continental breakfast when we checked in -- glad I read the reviews ahead of time. We found it very convenient to grab something in the morning before we headed out for the day. There were a few electrical issues (lamp not working, nothing major) and they were fixed promptly. The kitchen was smaller than pictured but good enough for us. The towels were small and stiff. The toiletries were small so pack your own! The pullout sofa bed was okay with my 11-year old but would've been unacceptable for most adults. I wish the hotel had round the clock shuttle service and free use of the computer ($1.00 for 3 minutes). All in all, the hotel was decent for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I were there with our 11 year old daughter to sight see in DC. This place is located directly across the river from the DC mall in Arlington, not far from the Roslynn Metro station. From there you can get into DC in minutes. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the metro in the morning and evening hours. You could also walk to the metro in about 15 minutes or less, but there are some busy streets to cross. The hotel grounds seemed safe and quiet. Our room was a one bedroom suite- w/o the breakfast option. It was huge, like a small apartment and had a full, equiped kitchen with dishes, pans, utensils and had a view of Roslynn, VA. We saved a lot of money and time by making our own breakfasts and dinners--(micro TV dinners) most nights. A Safeway, shopping mall and numerous eating places are within a mile or so away in Roslynn. Our non-smoking suite was generally clean and maintained. It did have a slight stale smoke odor that was reduced by opening the windows to let in some fresh air. The worst problem was the mattress, it was either worn out or really cheap and sagged in the middle. We also had to call maintenance to fix a plugged toilet and tub the first night, but no problems after that. Overall, we were willing to overlook a few minor issues for a condo-like suite in this location for under $200 per night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I had planned a special trip for my elderly disabled mom which I expect to be the last for us to see the Cherry Blossom Festival & attend The National Cathedral Palm Sunday Mass which she dearly loves, so I really needed to find a hotel with suites. I usually always stayed at the Washing Suites in Alexandria, but this year wanted something a little closer to the Church. When I first discovered the ad for the Virginian Suites Hotel, I read all the mixed reviews & almost cancelled our stay there. I am glad I didn't. Everyone was so helpful, the room was just as shown in their ad & cleaner than some hospitals I've been in...Will definately return next time. Don't let other reviews throw you off - Thanks to the Staff!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

This hotel is just across the Potomac River west of Washington DC so very convenient to the business or vacation traveler. The Virginian provides shuttle service to the Rosslyn Metro station during the morning and evening rush hours (until 9:30 AM and maybe 4-7 PM) which was very handy, we never waited more than 5 minutes for the shuttle to come along. The continental breakfast was pretty basic and not really very good: packaged pastries, cereal, oranges, bananas (sometimes), after three days became very bored with it. The toiletries are poor. One little teeny tiny bar of soap, the shampoo was OK. The towels were nice and thick, bed linens were good. I don't think our room was vacuumed in the three days we were there and our drinking glasses were never washed. There is a handy pedestrian walk way to cross the highway and eat at Ledo's Pizza/pasta/hot subs which was VERY good. All in all it was fine for us. I would rate it a 7.5 on a 10 scale.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Nasty. While we were there for 3 weeks, a dead roach remained in the corner of our room. My wife and I wanted to see how long the cleaning staff would let it lay there; apparently the cleaning staff was playing the same game with us! The breakfast was decent, but the hotel is pretty shabby once you leave the lobby. Convenient shuttles to the grocery store, the Foreign Service Institute and so on, but there are too many other places in the area to stay there again. Did like the free parking, however!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Suites Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.