We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Virginian Suites Arlington to your Saves list
Virginian Suites Arlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great hotel in a great location. This old apartment building turned hotel may not have all the amenities of large hotels, but what they don't have in amenities the staff makes up for with service! The rooms all have kitchens, there is a continental breakfast that I couldn't imagine walking away from hungry. It is near 2 metro stations, free parking, etc. I am a runner, so the proximity to the monuments (about 2 miles to the Lincon Monument) was fantastic! It is very close (1/10th mile to Iwo Jima memorial and 1/4 to Arlington Cemetery). The staff was so accomodating and very willing to help. Fresh fruit is always out, coffee, and cookies at night! Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Jodyn3
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are happy you were able to benefit from and enjoyed our location and hotel amenities. We value your kind comments about our staff and we were more than happy to accommodate you. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    226
    69
    42
    27
See reviews for
166
122
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The good :
Great location
Good rates
Terrific service and helpful attitudes from staff
Decent rooms which include full kitchen
Two markets within walking distance
The bad:
May have 6 bus loads of 8th graders running around
Corresponding buses in parking lot
No restaurant, bar
Very limited continental breakfast

This hotel is practically next to the Marine Corps Memorial (Iwo Jima), where the Corps tattoo is performed every Tuesday during the summer at 7pm. Walk on over, it's the best show in town, and it's free!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Mark G
We appreciate you being a guest of our hotel and thank you for leaving your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall good guest experience with us and enjoyed the area, especially our close proximity to the Iwo Jima Memorial. We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you on another trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Old hotel but large rooms, breakfast area similar to Hampton Inns. Close to Arlington Cem. Near Pentagon. Across river from Georgetown. Many government employees stay here. Paid parking.
Close to DCA but outside of Crystal City.

Room Tip: Back rooms are less noisy from DCA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Donald R
Thank you for sharing your hotel review with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our accommodations and convenient location. We appreciate you being a guest of ours and look forward to your next visit to DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A roomy suite, close to Arlington Cemetary
and the Iwo Jima Monument. It was everything we needed and more. Loved the breakfast buffet, and the free parking. Will stay here again if we return to DC. Only problem was it was a little hard to find the first day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear 4dtruker
Thank you for writing us a great comment on Tripadvasor. We are glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast service and the size of our rooms. Thank you again for staying at the Virginian Suites and we hope to see in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Went to DC again this year and stayed for the second time at the Virginian Suites ... they are remodeling some this year and updating which makes it better than last year ... which by the way was PERFECT. This is an old apartment building made into suites ... like an efficiency apartment. We love this place ... location is perfect ... the staff is the very best in the WORLD ... if you have a need and they can make it happen .... they do it. AND the price for that are of the US is unbeatable! Minutes from everything you want to see in Arlington and DC ... shuttles to the grocery ... free breakfast ... and did I say the staff cannot be beat!? Already planning another trip and will most definitely stay at the Virginian Suites!

Room Tip: I have stayed on the first and second floors ... they were the same as far as comfort and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Dgtootles
Thank you for writing us another great comment on Tripadvasor. We really miss you here already and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our room was spacious for the 4 of us. It was great to save money and use the kitchen at night after a long day of walking D.C. The shuttle service is quick to the metro and the metro is very close. The staff was great, always ready to help and the hotel was very clean. Would highly recommend it~

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Gayle A,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your DC vacation and for writing your review. I am thrilled to hear that you would recommend us and that you found our location convenient and our prices affordable. I also appreciate your nice comments about our staff.

Thank you again for staying with us and for recommending us. We look forward to your return visit!

Best wishes,
-Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance of Arlington National Cemetery and the Roslyn Metro Station. The rooms are huge with a kitchen and living room or small sitting area. We reserved a King suite but they gave us a queen as they were quite busy. The front desk was very helpful and moved us to a room with 2 queens. All of the staff at this hotel were friendly and courteous. The beds were not comfortable for us, but we are older with many aches and pains! The bathroom was small with little place for toiletries. This must have been an apartment building converted to a hotel. The breakfast was in a lovely room and had all the basics. There were beverages and fruit available in the lobby throughout the day. I think this hotel would be great for a young family needing lots of room and a suite situation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Paintermom,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel staff friendly and accommodating. I, also, appreciate your kind comments about our spacious suites and the breakfast room.

On behalf of all of us here at the Virginian Suites, Arlington, we look forward to your return visit from Boston.

Warm wishes,
-Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#26 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Suites Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.