We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Virginian Suites Arlington to your Saves list
Virginian Suites Arlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is an old building that has been completely renovated. It's decor is "old" with all the modern conveniences. They have beautiful suites with a full kitchen and dining room. The beds are quite comfy. Big flat screen tv. They have a shuttle that takes you to the subway. Once at the subway you can go to the airport or anywhere in DC. There is a CVS drugstore near the subway stop where you can pick up food items for the kitchen.

Depending on weather I recommend taking an early morning walk to Iwo Jima Marine Corp Memorial and then walking on to Arlington Cemetery. After touring Arlington, if you are too tired to walk back there is a subway stop at Arlington.

Overall. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    227
    69
    42
    27
See reviews for
170
123
47
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel countless times for travel for my previous company. It is the perfect location. The train is only about a block away. Arlington Cemetery and Iwo Jima are RIGHT next door. Just across from the Arlington cemetery is the Lincoln Memorial which leads you to absolutely everything else. I give it 4 stars based on price, location and amenities. Also I've always felt really safe walking around at night without much concern. Each room has a small kitchen complete with microwave, stove, full size fridge. There is also a laundry facility, small gym with filtered water and free internet. Great place if you are traveling with family. Also great if you are traveling for business but would like to feel more at home. The rooms/bed/bathrooms are all comfortable. It's not the Ritz but it is a really great deal for the price and the location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

First and formost the staff was great! Very helpful with directions, resturants and local attractions. Will at check in was very friendly and personable. The room was very nice, you could tell it had been renovated, modern fixtures and furniture. There was a slight smell to the unit but it was not so bad that we needed to complain about it. I would say to make sure you book through the hotel directly to get what you want, my husband booked it thourgh priceline.com and was not given what he had requested. It was not a problem though since we were only there for one night it was no big deal to us. Would stay again if and when we come back to visit the DC area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I visited D.C. with a school group and we stayed at the Virginian Suites Arlington, three to a room. The actual bedroom was quite nice, bright and cozy, but I drew the short straw and ended up on the pull-out couch. I was so grateful I had sheets in my suitcase (I was moving out of residence and transiting through D.C. on the way home) because the couch was disgusting. I didn't use the sheets and blankets that were provided because I was afraid for my health. The pull-out was also extremely uncomfortable and I was forced to sleep on an incline. The kitchenette was okay - it seemed clean. The bathroom was also just okay. I wouldn't be comfortable walking without shoes anywhere in the room.

The walls were extremely thin and we could easily hear not just the next room, but the room two doors away also. Breakfast was a joke. Boxes of cereal, yogurt, and fruit sufficed, but the hotel also provided pre-made sandwiches that were meant to be heated in a microwave. By pre-made, I mean the type of sandwiches meant to last 6 months. I couldn't eat them because they all had meat, but they people who tried them only tried them once.

The location is okay. It's very close to Arlington cemetery, but getting into D.C. required a walk AND the subway, and while you could walk to Georgetown, it was a long walk (30-45 minutes depending on how fast you walk). This hotel did stand out on service because they provided a shuttle to and from the closest subway station. It only runs during certain hours, but when it runs, the service is frequent and reliable.

Free wireless was a plus.

If you're on a budget, this hotel would probably suffice, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is the third time I've stayed here, and every time something has gone slightly wrong... First time we were put in a room that flat out wasn't what we booked. Second time the "non smoking" room we booked smelled overwhelmingly like smoke & had to move (of course, only thing available was something smaller). Third time we were nearly bumped to another hotel after travelling 12+ hours because of some kind of "water damage" to a bunch of rooms on half a floor. A courtesy call when they were aware of this situation, and BEFORE we arrived at the front desk, would have been nice (why else would we bother putting a contact number on our reservation??). Because of the numerous VIPs & tours who arrived AFTER us, this led us to believe the hotel simply overbooked & made up an excuse to displace guests; may or may not be the case, it really doesn't matter. The bottom line is this hotel doesn't yet have the benefit of the doubt.
Plus side: if you were fortunate enough to know beforehand and pay the extra fee, the complimentary breakfast & dinner is pretty nice (well... "ok"); pool is well maintained; free shuttle to Rosslyn metro station; decent location.
Minus: You're on the approach end of Reagan National airport; be prepared for lots of airplane noise! Also, if you miss the odd hours the shuttle runs (a gapped several hours in the early afternoon, & quits pretty early), you either have to taxi or walk (which we did in 99 degree weather) the 3/4 miles to/from the metro; there are a lot of surprises you don't know about with this hotel when booking, such as hidden parking fees, availability of food (when we called weeks ahead of time, we were told there was absolutely no food available on the premises yet after we checked in & got off on the 3rd floor we found a kitchen, dining room, and people happily stuffing their faces; this would have been good to know up front). For $180 bucks a night and nearly a thousand dollar bill at the end of the week we weren't up for this kind of adventure, & expected a little more reliability.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Based on good reviews, I stayed here for a week while looking for an apartment. I was not disappointed. MY room was clean and comfortable, with a modern feel, despite the age of the building. The full kitchen was great and the staff was extremely helpful, but a little slow. The metro shuttle was very helpful and even takes you to the local safeway. We could not have picked a better home base for our trip.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We think the Room and Ride package is great, otherwise we wouldn't stay. Plusses: The room is larger than even the Residence Inn 1 bedroom suites, and althought the building feels like it is from the 50's, the rooms are nicely updated. the front desk is very responsive. Breakfast is ok, maybe one notch down from the Residence Inn. Parking is easy and old-fashioned convenient...no garage. Parking is included in the room and ride, a great deal.

Minuses: The building has only two elevators, woefully inadequate. We were lucky enough to be on the 4th floor, which opens directly on to parking at the back of the building. Otherwise we would have gone bonkers waiting for elevators or had to trudge up as high as the 9th floor on foot. Also, we couldn't seem to get a simple 2 washcloths per day from housekeeping, and had to keep asking for them. I guess they need to buy some more. Also irritating: There are steps between the entrance and the ground floor elevator, and no ramp, so plan on schlepping your luggage up the stairs.

Room Tip: Get a room near the first or 4th floor if you don't want to get stuck waiting for an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#14 Business Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Suites Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.