We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Present” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersBronze level
BirminghamAL
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We booked this hotel through a "last minute deal" program that included the flight and room. This made no difference to the staff. We were treated like royalty from check-in to when we left. I had called in advance and told the person it was our anniversary and everyone on the front desk wished us a happy anniversary -- and did other things to make our anniversary special.

This is a large hotel and, like all in the DC area, has a diverse population of guests. I was standing behind a manager doing a new employee orientation and I heard him tell the new employees that he expected them to respect the different cultures -- and it seemed to me that they did.

Our room was on the 16th floor overlooking the Pentagon. Even though it overlooked the interstate there was little if any outside noise. The Metro station was only a short walk from the hotel -- and if you didn't feel like walking they furnished a free shuttle to and from it (and to anything else within a mile or so from the hotel). It was comfortable and very clean. The kitchen had a full refrigerator with icemaker. The staff even ran the dishwasher if needed. We forgot to take the "later' sign off the door one day so the room wasn't cleaned. The staff brought fresh towels up within 15 minutes of when we returned from sight seeing.

Breakfast was very nice. Some things are the same every day: oatmeal, waffles, bagles, and eggs. Other items changed every day (sausage, bacon, gravy, etc.). During the week they have light meals on two evenings and a desert tray on Thursday. The staff will provide "to go" containers to take upstairs upon request.

The shuttle ride to the airport is shared with two other Marriot hotels in the area and runs every 30 minutes. When a regular schedule is not needed it is available on demand. We didn't have to wait long when we arrived and, since we arrived hours before check-in time, they kept our bags securely locked up while we went into DC for sightseeing. We got back to the Metro station after midnight one evening (shuttle stops at 11:00) and we walking to the hotel rather than take a cab -- and felt safe doing so. Maybe because the walk took us by the DEA office building and its high security.

One nice thing about this hotel is the central location. The metro station is at the front of a large shopping center, and both the "blue" and "yellow" line go there. This gives access to downtown DC and to old town Arlington where the extremely nice resturants are. Because of this we didn't need a car.

I'm glad we stayed there and would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    168
    40
    8
    5
See reviews for
262
89
29
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hemet
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Went to DC with 2 teenagers. We had the 2 bedroom suite- worth the extra money. We had privacy, 2 bathrooms to get ready and 3 LCD TVs. Very relaxing room after a long day in DC. The metro is easy to use and 2 blocks away - we walked to it in 5 min. The breakfast was very filling with lots of selections. The evening meal was smaller, but the teenagers were happy with spaghetti, salad, rolls, and soda. There is a Costco 2 blocks away - if you have membership you can feed a family of 4 for $15. Food can get very expensive in the DC area. Also, the hotel staff will shuttle you a grocery store to pick up water and extra food you can keep in the kitchen. The whole family agreed that this was a very nice hotel. The only negative was that the sofa bed was uncomfortable, however we asked if we could have a roll away bed and it was delivered in 15 min. It was much more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

OK, this was a particularly great value since my wife's company was paying for it. Because the kids and I were there for only a few days, while my wife was there for more, she needed a smaller room than we did. However the front desk staff was overly accomodating in allowing her to stay in our room after we left to avoid the inconvenience of changing room. Plenty of room for us all. Marvelously located (easy access to highway and 1-1/2 block to subway). Pool was excellent and lifeguard was friendly and entertaining. My only complaints were (i) too few trash cans in the room and (ii) the breakfast was of average quality (some items were blah at best, some were above average - but again the staff was fantastic). Oh, and garage parking was expensive - but, hey, this is DC area. We parked on the street for less.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Yes, we were the ones who booked a trip to d.C. the week after the blizzards. We had a great time! The hotel room was spacious and clean, the employees were nice, the breakfast was okay - more than the typical but monotonous after day 3. The only problem we had was with movies - just couldn't seem to get them in our room. Tried for two days. A problem, but definitely livable. I liked the convenience of having a kitchen - saved a bundle on eating out. We had snowball fights everyday and managed to see most of what we wanted. Drivers attitudes could be better. All in all, a very good trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

arrived late in the evening and didn't get a warm reception. Asked for valet parking and was told we would have to park our own car...no big deal except the tone used. When I made the reservation I was told we would have a room with a nice view of the city. Wrong...we needed two double beds, therefore; our room did not have a good view. Front desk could have cared less. Called front desk to ask for information on channels for tv...was told it was in the book...I checked...not in the book...3 calls later a hotel employee came upstairs to show me where it was located. He looked surprised that it was not in the book and left to get us another copy. 30 minutes wasted while hotel employees basically called me a liar....Next morning, I expressed my concerns to Manager on duty...Much different reception. Very positive and outgoing employees on staff in the daytime. the manager gave me back 10,000 of my hotel points. Trip turned out okay because the morning staff had a great attitude. Just be sure to check in during the day and try not to have to deal with night staff...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, LA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed here during the week of Thanksgiving. It was the perfect base for visiting Washington. Very nice appearance, very secure, and convenient to a Metro station. We paid $119 a night plus $21/day for parking. The parking garage is beneath the hotel and requires room key to enter garage door. Most secure hotel parking I've encountered. The hotel provides a very nice full free breakfast with cereal, waffles, eggs, sausage, hash browns, bagels, etc. On Sunday-Wednesday nights, there is a free light supper like salad and sandwiches, spaghetti & meatballs, etc. Free copies of USA Today and Washington Post in the lobby. The rooms have sink, stovetop, microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher, dishes, etc. so we hardly ate out at all during the week. The neighborhood appears to be very safe--the Pentagon is on one side, the DEA headquarters on the other, so there's security on virtually every corner. The view from our 16th floor room was to Arlington Cemetery and the Pentagon. From the hallway window, we could see the Lincoln, Jefferson, Washington Memorials. The DEA has a small free museum next door. The Metro station is about two blocks away--a 10-minute walk or you can get the hotel shuttle to run you over if available. The Metro is just outside an upscale mall. We toured Washington for four days without ever removing our car from the garage. The ride to the Smithsonian station is about 15 minutes.

The only negative was with the internet. In the room, an ethernet cable is necessary (provided in the room) so we could only run one of our two laptops at a time. But there is wireless in the spacious lobby and also a business center with two computers.

I have to go back in the spring on business and this is definitely the place I will stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

While I stayed there on business, this hotel would be a good base for pleasure visits to the area as well. It's a short walk to both the Pentagon City and Pentagon Metro stops and it's a 3-4 block walk to nearby shopping, restaurants and even a grocery store. The free breakfast and evening manager's reception are popular features. While the breakfast area was crowded when service started at 6:30 a.m. I was always able to find a table. The rooms featured wired Internet only, but there's wireless in the lobby and it was not uncommon to see people with laptops there. Other reviewers have noted, and I would concur, that carpeting and such shows some signs of age. But, my room was clean as were the common areas. Service was friendly and polite. The hotel shuttle runs free to DCA, although it stops at one or two other Marriott properties en route.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City

Address: 550 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.