We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here to See DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Katy, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay Here to See DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My family stayed here for an entire week (Aug 2013) for a DC vacation. The very efficient, clean and safe Metro Rail makes staying outside of DC the right choice. This hotel is a couple of blocks from a giant upper tier mall, and also from the Metro station. 15 minutes by Metro to the Smithsonian and monuments. Also easy to get to Mount Vernon. You do NOT need a rental car (we bought the Metro SmartCards and would do it again). Free shuttle from airport to hotel. Free shuttle from hotel to Metro station - we walked except for one rainy day (and nearby restaurants - check out nearby Crystal City). Safe neighborhood.

From our floor you could see the Pentagon (across the street), Arlington cemetery and the Washington Monument. We got a suite and it was fabulous. Rooms, kitchenette and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Beds very comfortable with great pillows. Excellent TVs though we didn't use much.

Breakfast is a three ring circus (crowded and chaotic - the earlier you go the better) but the food is pretty good. Don't count on any other meals here.

Though near the airport and next to a highway - VERY quiet (at least on the 17th floor).

Small kiosk near lobby. Small gym, indoor pool and hot tub (nice - used it every night after touring). Business office to print flight boarding passes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn with others on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you were able to enjoy everything our Nations Capital has to offer, and then return to the hotel to recharge for the next day. I hope if you travels bring you to our area aain, you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    169
    40
    8
    5
See reviews for
262
89
29
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent here just one night, but definitely the hotel was absolutely worth it! Great value for the price. We had two rooms on the top floor, wonderful apartments. Absolutely comfortable King size bed, clean rooms and public area as well! Great and proffessional attitude of the staff. But this hotel has one large minus and that is the missing free wi-fi! Otherwise in case you want to travel without life need of being online, go there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Residence Inn in Penatgon City with other TripAdvisor readers. We do have complimentary wi-fi in all our hotel rooms and in the lobby. I'm not sure why you were not able to access it, but please ask us and we will be able to help you log in in the future. I'm glad that everything else we were able to offer you was so well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed prior to the House & Senate returning AND were gone before the 9/11 ceremonies...by chance providing the BEST rate over our 4 day stay!! In addition to a coffee maker, the suite had a kitchen (full frig, microwave, burners) with plates, utensils, cups & cookware. King bed was very comfortable & we had a couch & swivel flat screen tv (could view from bed or couch), desk, 2 person kitchenette table with separate bathroom. There was a view of the pentagon but only a lot of activity on Thurs eve & Mon am, the days we were traveling. Staff was great & the Breakfast was a bonus on top of all of this. Everything was clean & tidy...just what I would expect so close to the Pentagon.

I normally rent a car on vacation but no need here! The Metro was easy for travel (with a little coaching) & the scion was about a 10 min walk or so. I suggest downloading a Metro map on your phone &/or a paper map & getting the plastic rechargeable card. We traveled all over DC via Metro. The hotel shuttle to/from the Reagan airport is convenient. The shopping mall by the Metro provided some good choices & there's a Harris Teeter for groceries. There's a little food mart in the hotel but the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Residence Inn in Penatgon City with other TripAdvisor readers. You shared some great tips on using the metro as well. If you do not follow k8ty's tips and do not print out the metro map, stop by the front desk and we would be happy to provide them. There are also several apps for your phone that will help that we can share. Great tips, and thanks agai for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room was very comfortable with a full sized fridge and well stocked cabinets (dishes, glassware, etc) in the kitchenette. Tip: Don't forget to turn on the icemaker when you check in! It's SO convenient to have ice right in the room. Everything was nice and clean. There was a nice seating area which could have easily fit 8 people. I slept well in the king sized bed. Metro is only a block away so there is quick and easy access to DC. I returned to the hotel by Metro late at night after a Nationals game and felt very safe walking back to the hotel. Pentagon City Mall,also a block away, has a nice food court and the CVS next to the Metro stop is convenient for snacks, drinks etc. The complimentary hot breakfast was a nice plus! Overall loved my stay here and won't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn at Pentagon City with other TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad you found so many of our services so convenient. Great tip about the ice maker. We are looking into adding ice machines on certain floors, but if your freezer can't keep up with your needs, we would be happy to provide ice from our kitchen on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for the Labor Day weekend. Clean and quiet room, friendly staff and convienent to Washington DC. Hotel is 2 blocks from the DC Metro. Hotel shuttle will even take you to the train station. Only negative was that thier was a HS football team staying at the hotel and the breakfest area had a long line and no place to sit, had to go else where 2 out of 3 days. Would recommend staying here when touring Washington D.C

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Residence Inn in Penatgon City with other TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time visiting our area. I apologize that you were not able to take advantage of our breakfast. The great news is that the HS team from Florida won their game that afternoon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for the labor day weekend. Room was clean and staff was pleasent. The DC Metro is a short walk from the hotel {12 minutes by train to the DC Mall}. The hotel will shuttle you anywhere within a mile radius. Pentagon is a short walk from the hotel. The only negative was that there was a HS football team staying at the hotel, so having breakfest was an issue. Lines to long ,no place to sit.we left the hotel and went to a diner nearby. Would recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Residence Inn in Penatgon City with other TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time visiting our area. I apologize that you were not able to take advantage of our breakfast. The great news is that the HS team from Florida won their game that afternoon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I spent two nights at the Pentagon City Residence Inn in late June, 2013. The hotel is very large and seems to host many military personnel with Pentagon business. There were many uniforms, of all types, staying there. Great, if you're intrigued by military business as we are. The 2 bedroom suite was nice. One bedroom had a nice distant view of the Jefferson Memorial and the Washington Monument and the other bedroom had a view of a vacant lot in the early stages of construction...(or maybe just an empty lot). It is a nice, busy place. The buffets are hectic because of the enormity of the place and the food is adequate, but nothing special. The ice cream bar was nice, but their buffet is a bit sloppy. Perhaps we were there during an overly hectic time. We always try to stay at Residence Inn, but overall, the Dupont Circle location works better for us. It was nice being in DC. Pentagon City works best if you need a pool and you enjoy shopping at malls, as their mall is a five-minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try to face D.C. so you avoid looking over the vast empty lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Residence Inn at Pentagon City on Tripadvisor. I'm glad that the Residence Inn brand suits your family's needs so well. We would love to have you back, as we are also only 2 metro stops from the National Mall so I would argue closer to the sites than Dupont Circle, but our sister hotel there is a wonderful alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City

Address: 550 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.