We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The clever choice to visit Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The clever choice to visit Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Arlington can seem far from the main sights in Washington DC, but the Rosslyn metro station is a mere 5-minute walk from the hotel and it does not take long to reach downtown in the fast trains. The hotel is located on a hill, which can be an inconvenience if you have luggage. The area is perfectly safe after dark. The front desk staff is helpful but will not go the extra mile to satisfy you.

Got a standard bedroom (2 queens) with breakfast included for $129 per night (w/o tax). Note that I stayed on Thu/Fri/Sat during mid-term campaign so maybe the city was empty and the hotels were cheaper! Extremely clean room, furnished and decorated with style. All standard amenities, plenty of soaps, towels, pillows, etc. Free high-speed internet. Only weird thing was the table on wheels stowed under another table, not very easy to work on that and I did not understand the logic!

Sleep quality gets a 4/5 because you are close to the Reagan airport, directly under the take-off path. Be ready to hear jets roaring every 90 seconds from 6am to 11pm!

The breakfast service was very disorganized. If breakfast is included in the room rate, you can only order certain items from the menu (you order at the counter, there is no buffet, which would have made things simpler!). The waiters seemed rather inexperienced and spoke limited English, which made the breakfast ordering process look like an ordeal. There are some options for lunch & dinner too, which is convenient given that there is not many places to eat around besides a Ruby Tuesday (which I tried and recommend).

I usually don't comment on the lobby, but for once the area was very cosy with comfortable chairs and couches to read, free coffee, books, chimney, etc.

It was disappointing that the hotel did not offer a shuttle service to the Reagan National
airport (about 10 minutes away by cab).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    135
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
121
58
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I want to compliment the staff for their professionalism, courtesy and concern, especially Cory and Dorina, who went the extra mile to help us out during our trip. Cory recommended an Asian restaurant that proved to be excellent in both cost and taste. They were all helpful with giving directions and calling transportation.

The lobby bistro has some decent food and the staff is friendly and capable, but the free coffee offered by the hotel is weak at best and flavorless at worst. I ended up drinking the bagged tea, since the coffee, Batista, was not acceptable to either of us.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and relatively quiet, but we did have a noise issue with some sort of equipment which could not be located. The free Internet connection in the room was acceptable, but there is a $10 charge for parking.

Not much of a view from the back of the hotel, but you can see the Potomac in the distance from the 9ty floor and above. Since we were in DC to see the sights, not having a view wasn't an issue. If you are there during the week, the back of the hotel backs up to an office building and when they are working, you won't want to open your curtains all the way because you will be on display to the office crowd.

All in all, a fine hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Even the manager himself was going to drive us to and from the metro if need be.
After we had officially checked out the hotel still brought our bags down to the subway to save us the walk back.

Very clean even during remodleing. We was impressed. Rooms were very nice/clean. The rates were the lowest we could find. We'd stay there everytime but we probably won't be going back to DC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel was verry nice. I arrived at 12:30 pm and the room was ready by the time I got there. Construction was going on at the hotel to make it like other newer marriots that would include a market and a new lobby but don't let that stop you from booking a room. Construction goes on from only 11 am to 5 pm so unless you plan on sleeping all day you wont have a problem. The room was not very big but it was only a single with a couchbed. Also if you have a laptop you can get free internet, no wifi but they provide the ethernet wire for a quick connection. The location was goodthe hotel is close to the metro which is only a few blocks away. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Parking is $10. Chose this hotel because the price was right ($93 w/ AAA Card) clost to metro and DC (about 10- 15 min to Metro DC).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Negatives: Bath towels are so small and thin, it took two to dry off. The restaurant only serves breakfast, and there are no microwaves in the rooms, which is a huge negative for me. No wireless Internet in the rooms - only hardwire (free). The Ethernet cord provided is very short (about 12 inches long), so if you want to use your laptop you have to sit right at the desk. I recommend bringing your own, longer cord so you can sit on the couch or bed. Coffee in the lobby is like colored water - very weak, even the urn that said 'Bold'. The same brand of coffee (Barista) is in the rooms. I only filled the in-room coffeemaker with 2 cups of water, even though the pre-packaged coffee says it's for 4 cups. The coffee was still weak and barely drinkable, so I think it's just a poor quality brand. Front desk staff often don't answer the phone - the lobby is being renovated, so I don't know if they're tied up with that or if they just don't have enough people working.

Positives: Extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Nice decor. Comfortable couch. Flat screen TV - some channels in HD. Small fridge in rooms. Close to a grocery store, CVS and several restaurants, in a seemingly safe part of town. Very quiet and within 10 minutes to Reagan Intl.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parabiago, Italia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We recently visited Washinston DC and chose to stay in nearby Arlington because accomodations in DC were too expensive.
Courtyard marriott in Rosslyn is much more affordable (99$ per night).
The hotel is located in a quiet area near the subway station Rosslyn, and is easily connected to DC (allow 15-20 minutes to Capitol Hill) by the orange and blue line.
Breakfast was not included in our reservation. We were given a room with king bed. The room was clean and fairly spacious. It had air conditioning, tv, and free internet. The bathroom was also clean and big.
I sugest you choose this hotel because it is fairly priced and not too far from the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

1. Courtyard Rosslyn: Dont get confused by the buikding. Inside this hotel you will certainly find the kindest staff you will ever meet in a Marriott. From the guys in the front desk, to housekeeping and the restaurant. I must say that the location of this hotel is GREAT. If you like to use the metro the station is three blocks away. If you rented a car you can easily drive to DC. I rented a car with my family and I think we had it in the garage most of the time. There is also a shuttle that goes to Georgetown. The rooms are clean although not very big. The beds are wonderful and the internet conexion is pretty decent. I highly recommend this hotel If you want a nice place to sleep, in the best possibly locations and with the best staff ever. PLUS, the hotel is 2 minutes away from the Iwo Jima memorial and 3 from the Arlington Cemetery.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Arlington
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Marriott, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.