We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean, quiet hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean, quiet hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My kids and I stayed at the Courtyard Rosslyn last week. We had a great stay! Here are a few reasons why we liked the hotel:

- It's in a great location. It is about 2 blocks from the Rosslyn Metro station. It is in a good location to drive around Arlington and get across the Key Bridge into the Georgetown Area of town. But of course, I'd recommend walking across the Key Bridge because it is lovely. There is a Starbucks on the next block as well as a Safeway and lots of restaurants within several blocks.

- It's a nice hotel! The lobby is clean and looks very nice and is comfortable. The guest rooms are in great condition. The beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are clean.

- The housekeeping staff was wonderful - they arranged my kids' stuffed animals every day, which my kids loved. They kept the room clean and kept lots of clean towels ready for us.

- The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Every time we walked in they smiled and asked how our day was. They were super sweet to my kids. The valet parking guys were not nearly as friendly - not very good ambassadors for the hotel. Valet parking was required because work is being done in the parking garage. One evening both guest elevators were not working, but it wasn't a big deal because one of the staff was there to help us use the service elevator - she was lovely and was very fun about it all.

- The indoor pool was perfect for my kids to have a swim at the end of the day. Note that you can only go in the pool from 4-9 or 10pm - when there is a lifeguard there. That was no problem for us - the kids just wanted a chance to swim for a bit each day.

I would definitely stay there again! Thanks to the Courtyard Staff for being so wonderful.

Room Tip: I asked for a room in a quiet area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    153
    53
    17
    12
See reviews for
141
65
21
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family recently went on a road trip and this Courtyard was our third stop as we were visiting Washington, D.C. over the weekend. We got in late but the staff was super accommodating and friendly.

As far as the room goes, it was very clean and comfortable. If we're ever in the D.C. area again, we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had previously booked a different hotel for our 5 day stay and since it was so disgusting we started calling other hotels and thankfully we were able to find vacancy at this Courtyard. We stopped by very early of the day we were to check in just to see if we could park our vehicle on site during our day out and they allowed us to check in early. The free shuttle to restaurants nearby was wonderful, especially after walking and sightseeing all day. Beds were nice, rooms were nice and clean. Entire staff was wonderfully kind and professional. Only negatives is that the ice machine on our floor did not work for most of our stay, but was fixed on the last day and it would be nice to have a microwave in each room. Pool was very nice and warm, hot tub was the best! Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The main reason for a vacation traveler to stay here is that it's close to the Rosslyn Metro station (5-10 minute walk) but significantly cheaper than comparable hotels in the district. There's nothing going on nearby -- Rosslyn is mainly high-rise office buildings (and hotels), and the area sort of shuts down on nights and weekends -- so it's basically just a place to sleep while visiting DC, but it's more than adequate for that. There's a bistro in the lobby that's good for morning coffee and a bagel. And there's a grocery store and a pizza place close by, too, if you need them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I'm a huge fan of Marriotts. I turned a blind eye a few times during our stay but the breaking point came when our courtesy shuttle driver kept us waiting 30 minutes in the pouring rain while she ran some personal errands. Guest Services couldn't even find her. We gave her an enormous tip when she dropped my family at dinner 90 minutes earlier, so I was beside myself with her nerve. Never apologized because she knew we were soaking wet and mad.

This hotel was just ok. We had to call Guest Services twice to get someone to come up and pry open the sofa bed to pull out the coach our first night. Cheap couch. The room was a bit dirty and the carpets old and stained. It feels like an inner city hotel. Marriott can clean this one up, please.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima A, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We deeply regret that your stay with us was disappointing and want to assure you that this is not up to our standards of service. Please be assured that your concerns about the shuttle have been addressed. I completely understand your frustration and apologize that you had to wait 30 minutes in the rain. Unfortunately, when it rains there is a high demand for pickups and I assure you that the driver was picking up guests and not running personal errands.

Once again, please accept my apology and hope that you reconsider your decision about this hotel and give us another opportunity to regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent the 4th July long weekend, and we select this place since was close to DC but not in the busy area. Staff was friendly and solved every mistake they did with our reservation (we ask for some requiremetns and when checked in was not as requested, they take couple of minutes and solved).
They have valet parking service (15usd per night), guys really fast to deliver the service.
They have small starbucks inside we had breakfast there all their staff was pretty nice and try to make your stay better.
Nearby there´s Italian, Japanesse, Subs, Pizza, and more restaurants to have dinner.
Rosslyn metro station is few blocks away, but they also have shuttle to take you and pick you up there.
Certainly I will stay again, prices performance was really good, I gave no excellent rate since the elevator was partially in maintenanace, so you need to wait upto 5 mintes to get one (in the morning with all peole getting or leaving the breakfast area).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry Point, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

=============================

No direction signs indicating correct driveway to hotel. Few parking places while registering. Mass confusion with bus, taxi's and guest cars trying to find a place to park while registering. Inadequate parking area. No hotel attendant to help guide traffic or handle luggage. Stand in long lines waiting to register. Three available registration stations but only two were in use.

Small rooms but clean and quiet. Large bathroom with shower but no bathtub. No roll in cots for children. All in all this place needs a good manager. However employees were gracious and courteous.

This was our first Courtyard experience and will be our last. All our other hotels were more pleasant and less stressful places to stay.

==============================

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima A, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than desirable and apologize for the inconvenience of your arrival experience.

The garage elevators are currently undergoing renovation and we hired a valet team to avoid having our guests take the stairs from the garage. Our garage elevators will be completed next week and we will go back to having self-parking which will alleviate the traffic in the driveway. We do offer roll away bed upon request and apologize that you were not informed.

Your concerns have been addressed with management and we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will reconsider allowing us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
#30 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.