We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here your items get stolen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here your items get stolen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here recently and I noticed I left my necklace in the room when I checked out I called told them where I left it and it was gone. So within the couple of hours that I called someone on the cleaning staff had taken it. I called to put in a claim for it with the Courtyard Corporate it took me calling 3x's to get a return call on the status and they are refusing to replace or give me the value for my necklace. (100$) I wouldn't care if it was not a gift but I do. So be aware they have staff who steals your personal belongings and then the hotel plays dumb and are useless.

My Compliments to the Courtyard Corp. for being the most useless staff to speak with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    161
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
147
67
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Over time I have been using the Courtyards with more frequency due to the way they have been re-organized which is quite favorable to business trips. In general, they fit the need very well, particularly for shorter trips.

I found the Courtyard in Arlington/Rosslyn, Va is simply short on the basics that I have not found at others. No shampoo, plastic cups and only one bar of soap in the room. I got what I needed after I called, but such an oversight on a "prepared" room is not up to Marriott standards. The Bistro was understaffed at 0800 in the morning and it took a long time for the 11 guests to get breakfast in a timely manner. The sole person at the counter worked very very hard and cheerfully to accomodate everyone and was apologetic for the delays, but again - not the experience at other Courtyards. The value and location was good and the Cafe Asia restaurant around the corner is a keeper.

It is likely I will stay here again, but just up the street is a Marriott Residence Inn. I may try that next time to see if it is a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypsilanti
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Rooms are small but window wall gives illusion of space. Oddly, except for a lone ad for cruises, there were no brochures or book on DC sights or restaurants. Mimeograph sheets with an area map and list of restaurants are available at the front desk. By the front door umbrellas are on offer for sale, not loan. The shuttle to nearby places is a big plus. Hint: if you run around the room naked, close the blinds or you will flash the people In the apartments directly across the street. Parking is extra. Typically for DC room rates are higher than at many other Courtyards around the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location. Short walk to Metro.
Hotel was very clean and quiet and priced reasonable. Only negative was it lacked a typical restaurant. It did however have a coffee bar with breakfast quick foods and juice that was OK.
Only bar service in the evening was in the same breakfast bar and prices were very expensive for a cocktail, $27 for two premium drinks. I would recommend and would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The sign in front of the hotel is small and easy to miss, but once we found the place, we were very pleased. Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Had plenty of electrical outlets (which can be in short supply or inconveniently located in many hotels), so we had no trouble charging our electronics, etc. Had some trouble finding the hair dryer (it was not in the bathroom, where you'd expect to find it, but hidden inside a dark cloth bag hung in the wardrobe). Only other complaint was that when we checked in, the desk clerk told us the hours that breakfast would be served the next morning, leading us to assume there was a complimentary breakfast. That's the case at some other Marriott properties, but not here; there's simply a counter-service cafe that offers items for sale. However, there's also a Safeway market about a block away, as well as several other restaurants close by. As other reviewers have mentioned, the Rosslyn Metro stop is also conveniently located nearby, too. And if you're visiting Georgetown University, as we were, there's a free shuttle bus that runs from the Rosslyn stop to the campus. Many thanks to Loubna at the front desk, who not only researched that for us but sent a bellman up to our room with a printout of the shuttle schedule. Loubna gets top marks for stellar service, but overall I'm rating the hotel service only "very good" because of the desk clerk who misled us about breakfast, and the other clerk we dealt with at checkout, who balked at giving us back the luggage we had left at the front desk just a few hours earlier. We could not find the claim tickets, but I told her I could describe the items in detail. She insisted that wasn't good enough, and we spent another 10 minutes fruitlessly searching for the claim tickets. Only when I said that I simply couldn't find them, but asked her to compare the luggage tags to my ID, did she finally say she remembered us and would release the luggage to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in late April. We arrived late on a Friday night after attending a Washington Nationals game - the hotel was only a 5 mile ride or so. Although we arrived after 10:00 pm, there was still quite a bit of life in the lobby. We were greeted promptly by the front desk arttendant - she made arranegments for me to purchase a coffee from the bistro tht was closing down.

We were very impressed by the rooms that were spacious and clean. We were scheduled to check out the next morning, but what impressed me most was some of the things that we didn;t take advantage of. This hotel is ideally situated for visiting DC. The hotel has a secure parking garage - a bargain at $8 a night. Two popular attractions - Arlington Cemetary and the Iwo Jima Memorial - are very close. Georgetown is an easy walk over the Key Bridge - all other Washington tourist attractions can easily be accessed by the Metrorail which has a stop just a few blocks from the hotel.

This hotel, being a Courtyard, does not offer some of the amenities that you will find in a full service Marriott (the Key Bridge Marriott is two blocks away). There are not a huge number of dining options within a one block radius (although there are plent of choices withing a few blocks). These things being said, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable reasonably priced hotel as a place from which to visit DC, you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: High rooms may offer views of Washington attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

To me, this place was an average 3 start hotel. Nothing was wrong with it, it was clean, bed was comfortable, but there were a few things that would make me choose another hotel next time.
-Clorine smell overpowering the minute the doors open into the lobby. The hotel pool is located on the same floor and the entire 4 days I was there, everything I walked into the lobby I smelled the chlorine. The smell was not apparent on the other floors. Perhaps they should ventilate the pool a bit more.
-No hair dryer in the room and when I asked at the reception I was told there was one in the room. I know to look in strange places for hair dryers and I knew there wasn't one but it seemed like the receptionist didn't believe me. At least when I returned to the room at the end of the day there was a hair dryer.
-Returned one evening to construction on the floor and the door handle completely off my door with wood shavings on the floor on a mat and tools and door handles on my sink next to my personal items. I called the front desk to enquire about what was happening and why I hadn't been notified and again was told there was a note left in my room the previous day. Again, I know to look for things in the room and felt like the receptionist was again telling me how things were instead of providing customer service.

Perhaps this is a good place for families who want a cheaper option than staying in DC, but for business travellers or couples, I'd suggest choosing one of the many other options in the area or hope that their staff gets some improved Marriott customer service training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.