We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volleyball weekend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Volleyball weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here with my daughter's volleyball team for the weekend. When we arrived at 7:00 our room happened to be ready for check in. The lobby and the rooms were clean. We did have to ask for extra towels, but had no problem getting them the hotel staff. There are some restaurants within walking distance, which made it nice. The hotel is right across the river from D.C. and was a very easy drive to the convention center. There was a bistro there, but we didn't have any food from there. The food I saw from there looked really good though. We took the bistro area over one night just sitting around talking and letting the girls have a good time, and we got no complaints from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    120
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
106
58
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for people who are touring Washington. The Metro station is a short walk away and it is only a ten minute subway ride to the major Washington attractions. The neighbourhood in Arlington where the hotel is located is very nice, with lots of restaurants, grocery stores and a pharmacy. Extremely convenient. The price paid for our room was very reasonable for a major city and the parking fee ($10 per day with in-and-out privileges) was also pretty good. The service was excellent; the staff was very friendly and willing to help us with any questions about touring the city. The room was clean and quite spacious for two. However, the rad/furnace in our room was extremely irritating. It was incredibly loud and was on constantly. It didn`t ever turn off, which made the room exceedingly dry (when I woke up on our first morning there, I felt like I had to pry my eyelids off of my eyes to open them) and was rather annoying when trying to sleep. The view is also terrible, but we were not in the Washington area to savour the view from our hotel room! Really, though, the rad is my only true complaint about this hotel. I would definitely recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights when attending a business meeting nearby. It was a good choice; bed comfortable, free internet in room, staff extremely friendly and helpful, an appealing choice at breakfast (not included in room rate). Lots of restaurants nearby and a few minutes walk from Rosslyn metro. I saved $100 by paying in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked a 4 night stay here for the inaugaral festivities Jan 2013. The price was pretty reasonable considering how close we were to metro ( an easy 10-15min walking distance), the proximity to other amenities ( restaurants Cafe Asia, Quizno's Dominoes literally around the corner). Also the fact it had a heated pool and option for on-site dining gave it a lot value.

My only wish is that they provided a breakfast- I would have been happy with a 'free' continental selection. This would have really provided some additional value considering the cost. But no worries- There was a SafeWay Grocery store as well as a CVS within walking distance. Our room had a small but usable refridgerator. No microwave though.

The heated pool was clean and cozy- Just right for my 5yo and 2yo to get the wiggles out. Note that pool closes at 10pm. The gym looked small but was clean and seemed functional.

At the time we stayed-parking was $10 day. Not too bad considering the area. In DC think long and hard before renting a car. We drove from NC and just left the car in the garage the entire time. The transportation system (Metro) can take you to most of the tourist attractions. A one day pass is about $14 for each person 4 and up- I can only imagine what parking must be like cost as well as hassle of trying to find a spot on a regular day- much less a day when there is a convention in town. Save yourself the headache and just hop on the Metro. They have a hotel shuttle that will come and pick you up/drop you off at the metro with an advance phone call. But we found the walk doable with a double stroller. Sidewalks and crosswalks the enitre way.

Mangaged to grab some shrimp dumplings at their on-site cafe, which were decent. Wish they had some kid friendly fare- grilled cheese/pita pizza/ carrot sticks with a dipping sauce or something. Most of the food seemed geared towards the health concious buisiness traveler. They also have a little snack/candy store where you can grab some chips/water and get the cost charged to your room

The staff and service was wonderful. A very nice family friendly hotel with slight modern twist. I would definitely consider staying here again especially if the price were a bit lower say maybe $100-$150. The value at that price would hard to be beat. We paid $389 a night for a single with a pullout sofa bed on the 8th floor. A bit steep- but once again it was Inaugaration weekend. Other places in similar locations were charging $1000 a night with 4 night mininums or completely booked the day after the election in November. Just FYI.

We are marriott rewards participants. So we have stayed in lots of Marriotts. We found this place to be a pretty good represenatitive of the chain. Not the most upscale of the bunch. But gets the job done. Who comes to DC for panoramic views and resort-like hotel rooms- Get out and See the sites! Take in the History!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My daughter now resides in Arlington and this was the closest hotel to her apartment. I now have a hotel of choice when visiting from California. Very friendly staff, location is great, just over the river for DC events, and I couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

When checking in (at 2:30 pm) the lady told us that she really wanted us to have our room immediately. She also said, you are staying several days, I'll give you an upgrade (no cost). Rooms are spacious and clean as expected. Do not expect the same quality of work done by the chamber made if staying for several days. Their breakfast is good. Their lobby is (as with all modern looking courtyards) comfortable to spend time or work. Service oriented attitude. We came to spend some days touring at DC and they have a good garage for $10 a day which totally serves its purpose. Even if not driving to the city it is located five minutes away walking distance from the subway station. If traveling with family, it is definitely worthwhile paying for the breakfast when making the reservation. It will save you good money.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Consider staying at the Rosslyn Courtyard when in Washington DC. It is on the Virginia side of the Potomac but a quick Metro ride from all the major attractions. This is the standard Courtyard drill that Marriott has perfected; comfortable, functional rooms; lobby restaurant with affordable quick meals and lots of TV screens in the lobby for the latest news, etc.

The Rosslyn Metro station is a five block walk. There are several chain restaurants and two Starbuck's within easy walking distance. A walk up Clarendon Boulevard to the courthouse district makes more restaurants available and an 8 screen movie theater (AMC Courthouse Plaza 8). You can also Metro from Rosslyn to the Courthouse stop on the Orange line.

You can continue on Clarendon to the Clarendon neighborhood which has more great restaurants and shopping, including the Clarendon Market Commons. Also available via the Orange Metro line.

Also within walking distance is the US Marine Corps Memorial, walk north on Clarendon to Ft Meyer Drive and then east. You can't miss it. Continue a short distance and you will be at the Netherlands Carillion and one of the best views of Washington. Directly east, is the western edge of Arlington National Cemetery. You can walk through the gate and stroll the grounds.

Unless I have to absolutely have to stay downtown or in Pentagon City, the Rosslyn Courtyard serves me well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington
Arlington Courtyard
Arlington Marriott
Address: 1533 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.