We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place in need of remodeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1651 North Oak Street, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Penfield
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Place in need of remodeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed here many times and while the location is truly great for touring Washington and very close to the subway, the property is really starting to look tired and worn. Fortunately, it appears that Marriott has designated the hotel for updating and they are about to embark on a property wide remodeling effort in the fall.

The service and staff are always top shelf at this hotel and no matter where you are going, you will find yourself centrally located. We were visiting our son in Arlington, went to the National Zoo, a Nationals ball game, visited the Newseum, ate several fine meals out and were able to drive or utilize the subway without a problem. Subway entrance is only a couple of short blocks away.

The breakfast is pretty standard but always a nice option to be able to eat in. There is no pool, either indoor or out but there is a farily adequate fitness center. Additional $14 per day charge for parking. There are laundry facilities on three separate floors.

Even in its current state, this is still good value for the money given the property location. The nightly cookies they put out is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Property is 12 floors, ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    127
    30
    17
    5
See reviews for
120
56
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

After an $11 cab ride from Reagan national you arrive at a basic but clean Residence Inn.

Good size rooms for a family of 3, with kitchen in room, breakfast included and free wifi all for $99 a night. Clean and well fitted out. Would have asked for a room away from elevators as could hear the bing every time the door opened but nothing my ear plugs didn't solve.

Great value and 1 block from the Metro. Couldn't have asked for more and would stay again next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel - Friendly and helpful staff. Close to a few restaurants, shopping and the metro are both in easy walking distance. Price was better than other hotels nearby. Room was large, nice having fridge, stovetop, microwave, full sink and dishwasher! Decent breakfast included. Only reason 4 and not 5, fold-out sleeper sofa was worn out and difficult to sleep on

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just got back from a 1 week stay at this hotel and it was wonderful! Great location, great hotel, amazing city! Rosslyn Metro station is a 4 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to downtown DC and to all the major attractions within minutes. Our room was a Queen studio suite with a fully equipped kitchen if you wish to cook your own meals. The daily full buffet breakfast had a good variety of choices and was abundant to keep you going until dinner. Eggs, sausage, Canadian ham, potatoes, waffles, French toast, muffins, breads, yogurt, cereals, fruit, juices, coffee. Breakfast sausage skillet was really good! The hotel also served a nice evening meal from Mondays to Wednesday nights. The breakfast and dinner staff were amazing! These ladies were always cheerful, personable, and asking you if everything was OK. ALL of the staff at the hotel were super friendly and provided excellent customer service! One day our room had not been cleaned and we called the front desk. They apologized and offered to send someone up immediately to make the bed and clean the room. We told them that was not necessary and they assured us that our room will be cleaned for the rest of our stay, which it was. Some good restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel. Front desk reception have a list of restaurants they recommend for all budgets. We highly recommend ``Guajillo``, a Mexican restaurant with delicious food, excellent service, and decent price. It is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel. Washington, DC is an amazing place to visit! Over 100 attractions are free, including the Smithsonian Museums. There is so much to see so you have to pick and choose depending on the length of your stay. Union Station is beautiful! The Holocaust Museum is a must see! Very moving and emotional. The US Capitol Tour, Library of Congress tour, and a visit to the Senate were also amazing. To avoid long line ups, you can purchase advance tickets for both the Holocaust Museum and the US Capital Tour on their websites for $1.00 each through Extremetix.com. The Museum of Natural History (see the Hope Diamond) and Museum of American History (see the inaugural gowns worn by the First Ladies, including Michelle Obama`s gown in 2008), President`s exhibit, Ford exhibit, Julia Child`s kitchen, etc). We also recommend taking the 2.5 hour night tour of DC with Big Bus for $39 (well worth it), which takes you to the White House, several Memorials (Lincoln, Korean & Veteran`s, Iwo Jima, Martin Luther King Jr., Roosevelt), Washington Monument, Tidal Basin, etc. Brigette, our guide, was excellent! DC is illuminated at night and is gorgeous! Georgetown is a 20 minute walk from the Hotel or take the Circulator bus for a $1.00. Expensive to eat and shop. Arlington cemetery is 1 metro stop from the hotel and is well worth the visit. Most of the walking is uphill so take the tour bus for $8.75 p.p. so you can listen to the history of the cemetery and take you to the major points of interest (Kennedy family gravesite, Arlington House, Tombs of the Unknown where you see the changing of the guards (amazing), etc). Overall, our trip to DC was amazing and a very memorable experience! Only suggestion is that you visit DC in early spring or fall as it was very hot and humid during our stay. We highly recommend staying at the Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decaturville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at for a short vacation to see DC and Arlington National Cemetery. The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood and a short distance from the Rosslyn Metro Stop. Clean rooms, nice staff, free wifi, free breakfast, and kitchen in room. There was a Ruby Tuesdays and McDonald's a short walk away from the hotel. My son and I even walked across Key Bridge to Georgetown Cupcakes for their famous cupcakes, which was a treat. If we decide to travel to the area again I would stay in this hotel and recommend it to anyone who is visiting as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here with my parents and son for three days for a siteseeing tour of DC. This hotel is located in a great neighborhood. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is plentiful and very good. Parking is inexpensive and safe. The metro is a 5 minitue walk from the hotel. There is lots of restaurants around and even a small grocery store within a short walk of the hotel. All-in-all I was very pleased with this hotel and will stay again for future visits to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I strongly NOT recommend this hotel to anybody on earth! Beside the fact that the rooms look nice at first sight, during my stay at the Residence Inn Marriott in Rosslyn in end of June 2013, I had a very unpleasant stay, the room was very cold with the A/C turned –on above the average required. The room was not clean, I found hairs left on the hair dryer, the toilet was not very clean and the worst is the Wi-Fi in the rooms. As of now after a day of stay, I was successful in opening one page after a hundred attempts of logging on their so called internet networks. While calling the front desk, the phone wire was broken from both sides. The staff is commercially nice and their “so called” engineer came to the room and gave me a toll to call instead of him. This is my second time in this hotel and I am totally sure that this will be the last time in my life.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1651 North Oak Street, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.