We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington, DC trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1651 North Oak Street, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Washington, DC trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just got back from a 1 week stay at this hotel and it was wonderful! Great location, great hotel, amazing city! Rosslyn Metro station is a 4 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to downtown DC and to all the major attractions within minutes. Our room was a Queen studio suite with a fully equipped kitchen if you wish to cook your own meals. The daily full buffet breakfast had a good variety of choices and was abundant to keep you going until dinner. Eggs, sausage, Canadian ham, potatoes, waffles, French toast, muffins, breads, yogurt, cereals, fruit, juices, coffee. Breakfast sausage skillet was really good! The hotel also served a nice evening meal from Mondays to Wednesday nights. The breakfast and dinner staff were amazing! These ladies were always cheerful, personable, and asking you if everything was OK. ALL of the staff at the hotel were super friendly and provided excellent customer service! One day our room had not been cleaned and we called the front desk. They apologized and offered to send someone up immediately to make the bed and clean the room. We told them that was not necessary and they assured us that our room will be cleaned for the rest of our stay, which it was. Some good restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel. Front desk reception have a list of restaurants they recommend for all budgets. We highly recommend ``Guajillo``, a Mexican restaurant with delicious food, excellent service, and decent price. It is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel. Washington, DC is an amazing place to visit! Over 100 attractions are free, including the Smithsonian Museums. There is so much to see so you have to pick and choose depending on the length of your stay. Union Station is beautiful! The Holocaust Museum is a must see! Very moving and emotional. The US Capitol Tour, Library of Congress tour, and a visit to the Senate were also amazing. To avoid long line ups, you can purchase advance tickets for both the Holocaust Museum and the US Capital Tour on their websites for $1.00 each through Extremetix.com. The Museum of Natural History (see the Hope Diamond) and Museum of American History (see the inaugural gowns worn by the First Ladies, including Michelle Obama`s gown in 2008), President`s exhibit, Ford exhibit, Julia Child`s kitchen, etc). We also recommend taking the 2.5 hour night tour of DC with Big Bus for $39 (well worth it), which takes you to the White House, several Memorials (Lincoln, Korean & Veteran`s, Iwo Jima, Martin Luther King Jr., Roosevelt), Washington Monument, Tidal Basin, etc. Brigette, our guide, was excellent! DC is illuminated at night and is gorgeous! Georgetown is a 20 minute walk from the Hotel or take the Circulator bus for a $1.00. Expensive to eat and shop. Arlington cemetery is 1 metro stop from the hotel and is well worth the visit. Most of the walking is uphill so take the tour bus for $8.75 p.p. so you can listen to the history of the cemetery and take you to the major points of interest (Kennedy family gravesite, Arlington House, Tombs of the Unknown where you see the changing of the guards (amazing), etc). Overall, our trip to DC was amazing and a very memorable experience! Only suggestion is that you visit DC in early spring or fall as it was very hot and humid during our stay. We highly recommend staying at the Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    124
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
116
54
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decaturville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at for a short vacation to see DC and Arlington National Cemetery. The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood and a short distance from the Rosslyn Metro Stop. Clean rooms, nice staff, free wifi, free breakfast, and kitchen in room. There was a Ruby Tuesdays and McDonald's a short walk away from the hotel. My son and I even walked across Key Bridge to Georgetown Cupcakes for their famous cupcakes, which was a treat. If we decide to travel to the area again I would stay in this hotel and recommend it to anyone who is visiting as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here with my parents and son for three days for a siteseeing tour of DC. This hotel is located in a great neighborhood. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is plentiful and very good. Parking is inexpensive and safe. The metro is a 5 minitue walk from the hotel. There is lots of restaurants around and even a small grocery store within a short walk of the hotel. All-in-all I was very pleased with this hotel and will stay again for future visits to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I strongly NOT recommend this hotel to anybody on earth! Beside the fact that the rooms look nice at first sight, during my stay at the Residence Inn Marriott in Rosslyn in end of June 2013, I had a very unpleasant stay, the room was very cold with the A/C turned –on above the average required. The room was not clean, I found hairs left on the hair dryer, the toilet was not very clean and the worst is the Wi-Fi in the rooms. As of now after a day of stay, I was successful in opening one page after a hundred attempts of logging on their so called internet networks. While calling the front desk, the phone wire was broken from both sides. The staff is commercially nice and their “so called” engineer came to the room and gave me a toll to call instead of him. This is my second time in this hotel and I am totally sure that this will be the last time in my life.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in the DC area with the following requirements:

close proximity to metro station
free breakfast
free wifi
reasonable parking

This hotel fit the bill. We were on the 4th floor (rather close to the elevator) and found the hotel very quiet. No complaints there. The rooms were large. While we didn't use the kitchenette for cooking, we were glad for the freezer and dishes - we enjoyed ice cream in our rooms, plus the icemaker. We requested a late checkout and that was easily accommodated.

Only complaint was that the breakfast was understaffed. There were long periods on the weekend when dishes were not refilled, or when food just ran out.

We would gladly stay here again. Not fancy - but was comfortable and met our needs.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters! We were very happy on the 4th floor in rooms 403 and 405.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Got a good AAA discount rate for this past weekend. The hotel is in a great area, very convenient to walk to the Rosslyn metro station. The parking ($14) is considerably cheaper than most hotels in DC, and it's self-parking with easy hotel access, so no having to wait on (and tip) valets. The hotel was clean. We had a fairly small suite with a queen bed and a pull out couch for our daughters. The couch mattress had really seen better days, and if our kids had been older, there would have probably been complaints -- I could not have slept on it myself, although the bed mattress was decent. Room was fine, just wish there had been a door on the bedroom portion or at least across the sink/bathroom area. The kitchen enabled us to save $$ by cooking dinner in our room the first night. We were missing a set of sheets, a set of towels, and dish soap, but those were quickly brought up to us after a call to the front desk. The breakfast was well-stocked (the food was average, but that's always the case with these type of places).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn for two nights in June 2013.

The hotel is located close to the metro station "Rosslyn", with direct access to the Orange and Blue lines. There is a garage ($14 per night), but keep in mind parking is free in the street from Saturday 6pm till Monday 8am.
Arlington Cemetery is 20 minutes away by foot, passing by Marines Memorial. A nice walk for most of the journey.

Rooms are the standard Residence Inn fair, with large beds and fully equipped kitchen.
The fridge or dishwasher are a bit old, but apart from noise when in use, they do the work.
Beds are really comfortable, and everything was spotless.

Breakfast was adequate, although I wish they were more healthy options.

The hotel caters to large groups, so book ahead.

I have stayed at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, and although it is fresher, the Residence Inn Rosslyn wins in price and closeness to transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, not much of a view, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1651 North Oak Street, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.