We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1651 North Oak Street, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just don't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location is fine, and the staff at the desk and the breakfast buffet are friendly. That's about it. They must make most of their income off government rates, and the location being what it is they don't really need to do better than what they are doing now.

The rooms and furniture are run down and worn, the maid service terrible (they completely forgot my room a few times - and I was there three weeks) and quite noisy - calling down the hall to each other in the morning. And the beds... "Queen" beds is what they are called, but I asked the front desk when I noticed my feet hung off the end (I'm tall, but I fit on a Queen bed) and the desk agreed that they are a "special size" Queen bed. I've never heard of that before, but they are smaller than a normal Queen - and the only choice of bed. Besides being short it was terribly broken down. I had them flip it to see if it was any better, but that mattress is pretty old.

Just one stop up on the Metro is Courthouse - with a very nice Residence Inn. If you are staying more than a night, stay there. The neighborhood is more interesting, and the Metro stop less crowded. Until Rosslyn does some much needed remodeling I certainly won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay at the Courthouse Residence Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    145
    32
    18
    7
See reviews for
145
64
23
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Easy location, comfortable rooms, clean...nice breakfast and even dinner during certain nights of the week. Disappointed in the few questions I asked the front desk as there was no concierge.
Questions had wrong answers which would have saved me some time and money.

Grammy Sharon

Room Tip: Suites were great for our group of 6....2br and 2 ba....made everyone happy Elevators were slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

For much less $$ than most hotels in DC, you can stay just across the river here. It is close to the Rosslyn metro station, and an easy walk over the Key Bridge to Georgetown, or to Arlington Cemetery. Our room was spacious, with a kitchen, and the bed was terrific. Hot or cold breakfast is free. Parking your car is $14 per day, less than most DC hotels and worth it. We have stayed at several DC hotels, but this is our favorite so far. Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to DC for leisure in October. We couldn't have been happier with this hotel. Very nice, large room. Comfortable bed. But the best was the GREAT location. We walked to the Iwo Jima Memorial and Arlington Cemetery, and were only a couple of blocks from the Rosslyn metro stop. That took us everywhere we wanted to go! Also very close to a few restaurants and a grocery store. Because of the full size fridge and full kitchen, we usually stopped for a few snacks and some drinks to bring back to the room after a long day of sightseeing. Hot breakfast every morning was perfect to get us started for the day. We only were there one night when they had dinner, but that's a nice option too. I would highly recommend this hotel to people going to DC for sightseeing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Residence is blocks away from the Rosslyn Metro station--the only way to be a tourist in DC. We received a warm welcome, had a nice room--clean and quiet. It is in a business area, so being there over the weekend, it was particularly quiet. There's a Starbucks right across the street.

It's walking distance to Georgetown---about a mile, which was perfect for the big dinner we ate. Nice to have a long walk back.

It's also walking distance to the Iwo Jima monument--which we had never seen. WOW! It's six blocks and you start seeing the top of it around block four--the blowing flag. Wherever you stay in DC, this really is worth traveling to see. So humbling, like most of DC.

We walked through Arlington cemetery which is always a somber experience for us. I like that running and bicycles are not allowed in the cemetery, even with its parklike appeal. It is a cemetery and should be treated respectfully.

Back to the hotel...go to breakfast early--especially if the hotel is crowded. It was a madhouse both mornings we were there. Yikes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from a two day stay in this hotel. I have a client with offices in both DC and Arlington, and this option is much cheaper than a central DC hotel. Central DC Marriotts can cost double the price of a room here.

It is a typical residence inn, getting a little bit tired looking in the rooms, but its clean and nice. The location is great - Starbucks across the street, close to the metro and a grocery store. That's good because every room has a full kitchen. The hotel will even go grocery shopping for you, but i didn't use it or do any cooking. The rooms are decent size and the bed is ok.

This hotel seems to cater to the High School field trip to DC crowd. Then i stayed it was full of grade to high school kids, but that was fine. it wasn't noisy.

The included breakfast and dinner is decent. Breakfast probably a little better. One night they had spaghetti and meatballs.... yes, that's what i said. Probably something to do with the school kid crowd. There are some local restaurants if you cant deal with the crowds or the food served.

I cant comment on the pet policy because i was on a business trip. What was important to me is that my room didn't smell like dog. I'm happy to say both my room and my coworkers rooms had no sign or smell of a pet staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Residence is a hotel that we stay in frequently, since our daughter lives in Arlington. It is a very convenient location and within a short distance to DC. We have always had good service, pleasant personnel and would recommend the Residence Inn to any traveler in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1651 North Oak Street, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.