We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neighborhood pub, with excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Bar - CLOSED

Eat Bar
2761 Washington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201
703/778.9951
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Latin, Tapas, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A neighborhood pub, with excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Most friendly little neighborhood joints don't have decent food. Eat Bar has excellent and innovative small plates. A fabulous place to meet friends, or watch the game!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lite meal and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Eat Bar and we will be back. Been to Tallula and Eat Bar captures what was really good when Tallula opened. Love the corn dog bites. The bacon popcorn balls were ok. Good happy hour on wine and beer. Nice place. Great service

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“out of the box food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

good tasting food and drink with a wide selection. They have adventurous food if you are willing to try it. Happy hour drinks are priced well, but food in general is on the expensive side since portions are so small. Our server was very busy and left us hanging, but another staff memeber came along and was very nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We come here for drinks and bar food. Beer and wine selection are both good. Bartenders are ok but pretty uneven, they seem to have a lot of turnover. Food is always good to great. Never slammed but always busy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat at the Eat Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I went to Eat Bar with a buddy after catching a concert in DC. We got there a little before the kitchen was to close, but unlike some other places I've been to, there was no attitude or issue with ordering so late. We kicked it off with some great fries that came with a dipping sauce that tasted like sour cream and onion potato chips (in a yummy way). We ordered the mushroom risotto balls, which were very good, but I wouldn't spend the time at Eat Bar ordering them again. Nothing wrong with them, mind you, just other items on the menu were more memorable. My buddy got the catfish sub, which he said was outstanding, and I got the lamb burger, which was killer. The lamb was perfectly seasoned and cooked, with a tasty tzatziki sauce along with an unusual feta/curry combo that I was dubious about but won me over. House made drinks were excellent, including an infused bourbon of the day (this one was infused with apple and cardamom - just a hint). The charcuterie/cheese plate was "make your own", with four choices (price per choice) of meat, four for cheese, and I think four for "garnishes." The pork terrine was excellent, and the housemade strawberry jam garnish had nice depth and complemented the meat and cheese perfectly. I was seriously tempted to just spoon the jam right out of the ramekin, but I controlled myself.

We ate at the bar, and the bartender (Steve) provided great service and stimulating conversation. There was generally a good buzz inside, and even though by the time we left there were only around 12 people still there, the energy level was still high. We definitely had a great night hanging out at Eat Bar, and I'll definitely be coming back to try more of the menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.