We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh warm bagels=yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklyn Bagel Bakery

Brooklyn Bagel Bakery
2055 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-3006
703-243-4442
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #115 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: American, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh warm bagels=yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great selection and service. Fun to watch them make the bagels right there. My husband found this on a review website and we were not dissappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    10
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ultimate Hangover Cure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of my favorite places at Court House, if not the favorite. This is a bagel/sandwich place that focuses on its specialties - freshmade bagels (about two dozen flavors), sandwiches, and a few other things like salads, breakfast sweets, etc. Unpretentious to the extreme, fast line service, cash only (they have an ATM). The place is a license to make money.

Busy times are lunch on weekdays and brunch/lunch on weekends as the hungover/just woke up together crowd rolls in for carbs and caffeine. Price won't break the bank, either. I favor the sausage, egg, and cheese bagel sandwich on a sesame.

About the service - the owners are all about speed and can be gruff sometimes (I like the Soup Nazi analogy), I ascribe that to the fact that they must process hundreds of people every day and tell at least 10% it's cash only. It's a family owned business and they are spending their lives in there (and their success shows it). Come in, make your order, pay up, chow down. It's their model and it works.

There is seating indoors and outdoors, sometimes its crowded and sometimes not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best New York style bagels you'll find in the DC metro area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I lived in Manhattan for 3 years, so I'm spoiled by the bagels there. I've been searching for a spot in the DC area where I can find good bagels, and this is the best one I've found so far.

Check out a more complete review, with pictures of the restaurant and food, on my blog: http://hungry-games.com/2012/11/10/operation-rockstar-bagel-brooklyn-bagel-arlington/

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for a Quick Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Pseudo New York deli with decent pizza at pretty good prices. Typical two slices and a drink for $5.49 for lunch. Not a lot of inside seating that I could see, we sat outside and enjoyed the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome bagels... Cash only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Another reviewer hit the nail on the head... The owner is very like the no soup for you kind of guy. We didn't realize it was cash only and he seemed very agitated! Lol... Customer service may not be their strong suit but they do make a hell of a great bagel sandwhich. The price is pretty average... They charge for refills (a little tacky but whatever) and the ambiance is better then your run of the mill bagel spot. Just bring your cash and know your order!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Bagel Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Bagel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklyn Bagel Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.