We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next door to our motel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mario's Pizza
3322 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22201
(703) 525-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Grand Island, Nebraska
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Next door to our motel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Mario's has pizza, sub sandwiches, and ice cream. Not much for atmosphere. Mostly carry-out with no indoor seating. There is outdoor seating. I thought the pizza was good, not great. They are better at making the sandwiches. I had a "Lefty Special" which is a specialized philly. Good value for the money. Is next to Highlander Motel. Came in handy when we arrived back to the motel late. Mario's was open until 5 AM. I did not try the ice cream.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    5
    12
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Subs made by Lefty are quite good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This institution has been here for 55 years and I've visited numerous times over the last 40 years, though not on a regular basis. It has been a few months since my last visit. My one comment is that the subs I have eaten at Marios that were made by Lefty have been quite tasty. I enjoyed the pizza in my youth but it doesn't excite me much now. Other items on the menu I've tried over the past 5 years are just so, so.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Grabbed a quick bite with teh family while in town. We had slices of pizza and some wings and all were very good. Very much a neighborhood place but the guys working the counter were great and fun to carry on with. Pizza was sicilian style, thick with lots of cheese and toppings, very tsaty. Wings usual but still very good. They are also a Carvelle ice cream shop so after the pizza and wings, ice cream to top it off was great. Lots of flavors to choose from.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Sorry. I just don't like the pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I am just not a fan of Marios. They pre-bake the pie crusts and it just doesn't taste good. I love pizza....love it. But - something is not right here. I am not sure if they are using low-quality cheese and sauce....but the pizza overall is just very bland and well - yucky. I will never, ever, ever pay for this pizza ever. Even if someone offered me a free slice or a free pie - I wouldn't take it. Go anywhere else and you will get better. As for the other eats they might have - haven't tried them. The pizza was enough of a turn off that I will never patronize them again. It's not that it wasn't good....it was terrible.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My friends and I ordered a Large Supreme pizza, two dozen wings and two desserts and were floored at the $70 price tag. We were told by a friend that this was the place to get your pizza, so we figured it had to be worth it. Well, in short, it wasn't. The pizza crust was very salty and the pizza was luke-warm when we got it. The wings were okay, and the dessert was nothing to get excited over. We definitely won't eat there again. We were very disappointed with the quality.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mario's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.