We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time to Reflect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of the Unknowns

Tomb of the Unknowns
Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 36 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Guarded around the clock by the Army's 3rd infantry, this memorial in Arlington National Cemetery honors unidentified American soldiers from the two World Wars and the Korean War.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Time to Reflect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Think of the families who never learn what happened to their sons or daughters. What a great memorial to those people.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    105
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A honorable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I went here in 2009 when I was in Hanover County ROTC program and saw the changing of the guard, this was a very honorable and chilling ceremony, I got cold chills when we were told about the commitment to guarding this tomb. Something many people should go see

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A must stop for travel to DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you make one (or two stops) at Arlington National Cemetery you need to make sure you visit the Tomb of the Unknowns.

If you appreciate honor, dignity and committment to fallen comrades you will truly appreciate watching the changing of the honor guard at this memorial.

Day, night, rain and snow does not stop the guard from his honorable post.

A sight to witness yourself (especially with family and friends).

Also, visit JFK gravesite which is a short walk from here as well

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Total Discipline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Watching the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown brings to mind the total discipline the soldiers of the Old Guard must have to accomplish their task, guarding the tomb of the thousands of unknown and I identified servicemen that lost their lives protecting Americas freedoms. Twenty-one steps, twenty-one seconds, twenty one steps. The view if Washington from the Tomb, is beautiful. Also take the short walk to the Challenger memorial located just behind the Tomb of the Unknowns

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I witnessed the Changing of the Guards at the Tomb of the Unknown twice on my visit to DC last week and don't believe I've ever seen anything so heart-warming, and at the same time, sad. The respect the current Guards have for the Unknown is incredible. This is a must see for anyone visiting the DC area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of the Unknowns also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of the Unknowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of the Unknowns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.