We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of the Unknowns

Tomb of the Unknowns
Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Mount Vernon and Arlington National...
Ranked #1 of 28 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guarded around the clock by the Army's 3rd infantry, this memorial in Arlington National Cemetery honors unidentified American soldiers from the two World Wars and the Korean War.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Moving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited DC and Arlington for the first time in May 2013. We knew we had to visit Arlington National Cemetery and the Tomb of the Unknowns. We went late on a Saturday when it was cloudy and a light drizzle. What a moving experience! The men we saw with the Honor Guard were very impressive. While this is a solemn event, it is very touching to see how everyone there is quiet and respectful during the changing of the guard ceremony.This is a must-see if you are in the area. Along with the changing of the guard, we saw two sets of middle school students present wreaths to be laid at the tomb. It was a proud moment for me as an American. As another reviewer wrote, 'the rows and rows of white tombstones helps you understand just how many have given their lives for our freedom.' That is so true!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    113
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We paid for the tour bus and I highly recommend it, the cementary sits on 600+ acres.

Watching the changing of the guards was beautiful. It makes you very proud to be an American and I think if you're not you appreciate it just the same. Amazing

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't miss when you visit Arlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very emotional experience. Dedicated military who out there 24/7 in all weather. Be sure and wait to see the changing of the guard.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solomn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Everyone should witness the solomn changing of the guard. It is worth the wait -- I believe it occurs at the top of the hour. What a testimony to those who have fought for our freedom. and the rows and rows of white toumbstones helps you understand just how many have given their lives for our freedom. God Bless our Troops and God Bless America

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take your kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Please take your kids and show them what honor and respect mean. These men give their all too fully honor those who rest here anonymously and honor the memories of those who served and gave the ultimate sacrifice. They take this duty as seriously as anyone ever could and give 1000% to it. They have guarded the tomb through blizzard and hurricane, for decades and it is and extreme honor and commitment of lifestyle. Go, learn, observe, show your respect, and teach the next generation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of the Unknowns also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of the Unknowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of the Unknowns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.