We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Home of Arlington's Tomb Guards and Funeral Details.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Myer

Fort Myer
Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22211
703-696-3944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 36 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An important post of the Army's Signal Corps since the Civil War, Fort Myer is home to the Army Chief of Staff and the Army's oldest active infantry regiment and was the site of the first military test flight.
latrobe
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Home of Arlington's Tomb Guards and Funeral Details.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Where the Tomb Guards live is a beautiful Post. The back entrance into Arlington Cemetery and the Old Post Chapel showcase the start of a Soldiers Final Review. Stand quietly and reverently and see the gentleness and caring manner provided to those on their way to burial at one of the many famous areas within Arlington National Cemetery. If you or a loved one has ever served our country you will be impressed with how the men and women of todays military honor those of today and yesterday.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Nice little post”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This post has a lot of history and we had a good time while we were there. We drove around and saw the different sites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bowling, even for non-military”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love the inexpensive classic bowling alley at Ft. Myer. You have to go through an inspection to get on base but the low prices and family atmospher make it a great place to hang out with friends and bowl a few games. The wine selection leaves a lot to be desired but what do you really expect from a bowling alley. It's fun, not fabulous.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Access Limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited onm a Saturday and ran into restrictions and closed gates. The signs were not helpful and one does not know that a gate is closed until one gets there. Not tourist friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spent my childhood at Ft. Myers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I grew up in Arlington in a military family. We spent so much time at Ft. Myers. Swimming, bowling, the military parades which were absolutely beautiful to watch, especially at night. Ft. Myers has px, commissary and medical facilities and is right next to Henderson Hall and Arlington National Cemetery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Myer also viewed

 

Been to Fort Myer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Myer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.