We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent shuttle to Skins game, great bar food, lots of fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal City Sports Pub

Crystal City Sports Pub
529 23rd St S, Arlington, VA 22202-2517
703-521-8215
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 693 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent shuttle to Skins game, great bar food, lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a shuttle to the Redskins game on Sept. 22 with Crystal City Sports Bar (we're from Canada), got a hotel close by, and showed up on Sunday morning to a bar just buzzing with patrons already. Got street parking close by, easy access. We found out we got a great, hearty brunch as part of our shuttle package, which was a really nice surprise. After eating our fill, the shuttle left on time, got us to the game conveniently, and got us back to the bar in the evening much faster and more easily than we could ever have done on our own. We stayed at the bar (packed still) for burgers and beers and to catch some other games on TV. The food was really good, the service was fast, friendly and highly competent and the vibe was high energy and fun. We'd definitely go back and would recommend it highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    78
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge Sports Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

3 Stories and lots of elbow room to wander around. 1st and 3rd floor is non-smoking, 2nd floor is smoking. Typical Bar Foods, Burgers, Wings, Fries, Onion Rings and other items such as Pork, Steak, Chicken Plates with the fixings. 3rd floor is full of TV Screens that can confuse anyone as many games playing at same time and scores galore to keep you posted on your favorite team. Quick efficient service and great prices. Limited Happy Hour drinks mainly Beers but many on Tap for your liking.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food & beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

In some ways a typical sports pub - except the staff and the food pricing/portions are better than average. Every time I visit here I am always surprised. The staff works hard to hospitable, and the service is good without being pushy.Take some friends and have a great evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great prices and lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I sometimes come here to watch the NFL games because the prices are great, and food is reasonably priced. The pub is about three levels so it's completely capable of handling large crowds. Parking is easily available across the street, but plan accordingly since it gets busy. I would also suggest you make a reservation or come early if you have a large crowd coming. The pork chops and two sides are a great price. I would recommend the chili as well. so many good things on the menu, and it's just a really laid back environment.

So some suggestions: Arrive early or make a reservation, Plan ahead in advance to figure out how big your party is, try and pay with cash since it gets busy during a game.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Tops for casual food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We went here 3 times on this trip and each time was very good: all food was well-prepared (the "best deal in town" which is a filet with potato and veg was delicious, cooked perfectly and so tender. The servers were attentive and friendly, and had a good handle on the menu.
Jocelyn was superb ...take note, Mr Manager! The Happy Hour was a good value and the spicy plum wings were really tasty.
Thoroughly enjoyable place. Will return for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal City Sports Pub also viewed

 

Been to Crystal City Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal City Sports Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.