We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Women in the military memorial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Women in Military Service for America Memorial

Women in Military Service for America Memorial
Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA 22201
703-533-1155
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$39*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #10 of 62 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When it was dedicated in 1997, the Women's Memorial became the first major American memorial to honor women who have served in the United States military. The memorial also marks the ceremonial entrance to Arlington National Cemetery.
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Women in the military memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This memorial is dedicated to all the women who have served in the military. It meant a lot to us since my mom was a Captain in WWII and received several Purple Hearts. She never made it to Arlington to see it but she was able to see pictures of it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattyMcgannvalenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

As ex-service personnel we found this memorial particularly moving. The memorial is in the grounds of Arlington but does not get advertised so not many people seem to be aware of ots existence. The memorial is very well done and there is a great deal of very moving accounts of real life experiences from some of the women mentioned in the memorial. More should be made of this gem of an exhibition which is extremely interesting. Go visit and pay your respects you will not regret it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a wonderful memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

this memorial in the arlington cemetary does not get enough publicity. i enjoyed it very much, and was especially moved by the diary of one of the nurses written in korea during the korean war

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank al f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is Very Good and Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I didn't know this was there, I was very impressed, it is very well done. I was sitting in the entry and the large picture behind the desk changed when you looked at it from different directions. I think we forget that women have been a large part of so many wars, we think of them as nurses safe in safe hospitals not on front lines saving lives and fighting for our freedom the same as men

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Tribute to the Many Women Who Have Served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My mother was in the military, so when this Memorial was dedicated, we made sure to go and see it. I was impressed by the detail in the exhibitions. It is well-done and visually interesting. Unfortunately, it seems like the tour guides sort of treat it like an after-thought and don't "push" it. On my most recent tour of Arlington Cemetery, the guide barely mentioned it. Of course, I had to bring it up, so he talked about it a bit. It is air-conditioned, which is nice during the humid summer months.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RestonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Women in Military Service for America Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Women in Military Service for America Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing