We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent memorial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Women in Military Service for America Memorial

Women in Military Service for America Memorial
Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA 22201
703-533-1155
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 33 attractions in Arlington
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: When it was dedicated in 1997, the Women's Memorial became the first major American memorial to honor women who have served in the United States military. The memorial also marks the ceremonial entrance to Arlington National Cemetery.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

As ex-service personnel we found this memorial particularly moving. The memorial is in the grounds of Arlington but does not get advertised so not many people seem to be aware of ots existence. The memorial is very well done and there is a great deal of very moving accounts of real life experiences from some of the women mentioned in the memorial. More should be made of this gem of an exhibition which is extremely interesting. Go visit and pay your respects you will not regret it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a wonderful memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

this memorial in the arlington cemetary does not get enough publicity. i enjoyed it very much, and was especially moved by the diary of one of the nurses written in korea during the korean war

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is Very Good and Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I didn't know this was there, I was very impressed, it is very well done. I was sitting in the entry and the large picture behind the desk changed when you looked at it from different directions. I think we forget that women have been a large part of so many wars, we think of them as nurses safe in safe hospitals not on front lines saving lives and fighting for our freedom the same as men

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Tribute to the Many Women Who Have Served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My mother was in the military, so when this Memorial was dedicated, we made sure to go and see it. I was impressed by the detail in the exhibitions. It is well-done and visually interesting. Unfortunately, it seems like the tour guides sort of treat it like an after-thought and don't "push" it. On my most recent tour of Arlington Cemetery, the guide barely mentioned it. Of course, I had to bring it up, so he talked about it a bit. It is air-conditioned, which is nice during the humid summer months.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Came across it by accident”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We actually found this Memorial by accident by taking a wrong turn.
Unfortunately, there seemed little signage and the exhibit appeared to be closed, which was a shame as I would have liked to have gained more information and learn about the women in military service.
Having said that, wonderful memorial and very pleasantly quiet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Women in Military Service for America Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Women in Military Service for America Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Women in Military Service for America Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.