We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great honor to visit and pay respect to those who have served” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$90*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Ranked #2 of 26 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Waxahachie, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great honor to visit and pay respect to those who have served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been here and twice and each time has been moving. Easy access from the metro and parking is good if you drive. There are buses available inside of the park that will take you to all of the "important spots." But I encourage you to walk and read the names and say thanks and a prayer for those that died defending our freedom and way of life. The changing of the guard is something you need to experience simply because these men show the utmost respect for the our unknown dead. They are standing guard 24/7, 365 days a year through any weather the heavens may bring. There is also plenty of history to take in so read up on that.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,364
    450
    62
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arlington National Cemetary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Cemetaries are not something you would think you would recommend to visit...however, my visit to Arlington National Cemetary was not only humbling, but also emotional. It makes you realize all the military that have lost their lives to protect our Country. It is so massive with all the white markers - it is overpowering to say the least to realize what was sacrified, but then make you proud to be in a country where you can enjoy your freedom. This certainly puts things in your life into perspective, and also appreciation for our military

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glouster, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our favorite attraction in the DC area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

While my husband didn't think he would like it, he and I were very happy we visited while we were leaving. The cemetery itself is so vast, just acres upon acres of white tombstones, it is very surreal. The memorials of JFK, Columbia and Challenger and others were very moving. Also the Changing of the Guard is a fantastic ceremony and should be watched by everyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Busy but respectful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A visit to Washington would not be complete without a visit to Arlington to pay one's respect. Although busy, our visit was on Memorial weekend, it was relaxed. You could see that people were there mainly to pay their respects, and behaved accordingly. Your time there can be brief or long, you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sobering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A must see for any visit to DC. So many have given so much for our country. The trolley tour is great, but get off of that path for the whole picture.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.