We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can understand why JFK wanted to be here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$49*
and up
Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Arlington
Activities: Antiquing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Miami
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I can understand why JFK wanted to be here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Humbling experience to see how many are there for the price of freedom. The history of the place how it began from the hate of Montgomery Meigs for the Lee's. I had no idea that it had been the residence of Robert E. Lee and belonged to his wife Mary that was related to Washington. The views from the Arlington residence are something to see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,131
    617
    85
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must see. Do make a stop at Arlington House.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been to Arlington national Cemetery several times and it is absolutely a must see. I did take the ANC shuttle tour because I was traveling with family members who could not walk very far, but I think that next time I will explore on foot with a guide book. Unfortunately the guide on this "tour" although very friendly, did not give that much useful or interesting information. I just looked at it as getting a ride around the cemetery if it is difficult for you to walk. I noticed that a lot of people were not getting off the shuttle at Arlington House. Part of the problem may also be because the staff on the tour did not give a good description of what was there. I do recommend making a stop here even if the house is closed. It offered a beautiful view of Washington DC. It also overlooks the Kenedy's grave site. Pierre Charles L'Enfant's gave site is also here, overlooking the city. There is also a beautiful garden that you can visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Arlington Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had been here before and wanted my grandkids to see it, thinking we would be there briefly - 3 hours later, we headed back to the Metro! The kids are 8 and 10 and enjoyed all of the history here (Robt E Lee's forfeiting his home for the victims of the war, the graves of the Kennedys', the Tomb of the Unknown, L'Enfant's tomb). Plus it was a nice break from our hectic pace to slow down and quietly respect those that are buried here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A moving experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Arlington National Cemetery. We recommend the tram tour, since it is informative and takes you to key sites within the cemetery. A moving experience! From the eternal flame to the Lee house there is a great deal of history here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are a history buff ... Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arlington national cemetery is loaded with history and trivia. It is a very solemn tour. The JFK gravesite is still brings a tear to your eye, 50 years later. The tomb of the Unknown Soldiers changing on the guard is outstanding. So many other celebs are buried there, plus the fact that it was Gen. Robert E. Lee's estate before the Civil War, makes this a must see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.