We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see. Do make a stop at Arlington House.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 35 attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Must see. Do make a stop at Arlington House.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been to Arlington national Cemetery several times and it is absolutely a must see. I did take the ANC shuttle tour because I was traveling with family members who could not walk very far, but I think that next time I will explore on foot with a guide book. Unfortunately the guide on this "tour" although very friendly, did not give that much useful or interesting information. I just looked at it as getting a ride around the cemetery if it is difficult for you to walk. I noticed that a lot of people were not getting off the shuttle at Arlington House. Part of the problem may also be because the staff on the tour did not give a good description of what was there. I do recommend making a stop here even if the house is closed. It offered a beautiful view of Washington DC. It also overlooks the Kenedy's grave site. Pierre Charles L'Enfant's gave site is also here, overlooking the city. There is also a beautiful garden that you can visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,923
    371
    46
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Arlington Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had been here before and wanted my grandkids to see it, thinking we would be there briefly - 3 hours later, we headed back to the Metro! The kids are 8 and 10 and enjoyed all of the history here (Robt E Lee's forfeiting his home for the victims of the war, the graves of the Kennedys', the Tomb of the Unknown, L'Enfant's tomb). Plus it was a nice break from our hectic pace to slow down and quietly respect those that are buried here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A moving experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Arlington National Cemetery. We recommend the tram tour, since it is informative and takes you to key sites within the cemetery. A moving experience! From the eternal flame to the Lee house there is a great deal of history here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you are a history buff ... Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arlington national cemetery is loaded with history and trivia. It is a very solemn tour. The JFK gravesite is still brings a tear to your eye, 50 years later. The tomb of the Unknown Soldiers changing on the guard is outstanding. So many other celebs are buried there, plus the fact that it was Gen. Robert E. Lee's estate before the Civil War, makes this a must see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable & Quite Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent a couple of hours at this treasured monument, & it didn't take long to appreciate the significance of where I was.

Arlington National Cemetery is steeped with history.

You get a lump in your throat when you pass President John F Kennedy's Memorial. It really makes you think in a dignified way what has passed before our time.

A very proud moment for me having visited this after many years of wanting to be there.

Worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.