We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 36 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Of course this is a very moving place to visit. Take the trolley ride around the cemetery. There is no way we would have been able to see as much as we did without it. They will also take you to see the changing of the guard, which happens every 30 minutes and give you a chance to get off the trolley to see the Kennedy's grave site. Overall, it took about 45 minutes and made three stops.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,017
    384
    49
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tolleson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place was very peaceful. We did the bus tour that took us to the three stops. Since we had kids it was necessary, but it cost money. Watching the changing of the guard as very neat. It had such detailed precision. My children were moved during the ceremony. We spent just over 3 hours there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basiglio, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An oasis of Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

War and then Peace!
The hills covered by white tombstone are impressive.
The only thing not good is the precence of some huge stones (for the people who paid for). At the death all soldiers gave the life for the nation without any difference in census.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful and HUGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Two words to describe this cemetery: beautiful and HUGE!! It is quite a long walk to see the different sites and if you go on a hot summer day like I did, it makes the walk seem even longer!! Make sure you bring a bottle of water!! I suggest looking at the map online and picking the sites you want to see ahead of time so that you can be sure to set aside enough time to check everything out. One of the "Must See" is the changing of the guards at the tomb of the unknown soldier that happens every hour, you definitely don't want to miss it!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“must not miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On my recent visit to Washington I took the metro to Arlington cemetery and went on the hop on hop off tour great attraction and well worth doing. The cemetery is full of history don't miss the grave of War veteran and film star Audie Murphy the crew from the space shuttle Apollo and of course the eternal flame of also stick around for the changing of the guard this was a stand out attraction and one not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;