We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must not miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 35 attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“must not miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On my recent visit to Washington I took the metro to Arlington cemetery and went on the hop on hop off tour great attraction and well worth doing. The cemetery is full of history don't miss the grave of War veteran and film star Audie Murphy the crew from the space shuttle Apollo and of course the eternal flame of also stick around for the changing of the guard this was a stand out attraction and one not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,923
    371
    46
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was moved by this place, i walked around this place for a while and had a look at the Kennedy graves, didn't have time to go to the tomb of the unknown soldier. A lovely place to be buried.
God bless all service personnel.
I

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was great. So glad we stopped. The changing of the guard is a must see. There is just so much history to see here. It's a lot of walking but it's worth it. Everyone was nice and respectful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Arlington great. ANC tours awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ticket sales woman was rude, tram very late
Could not understand tram driver or tour guide due to thick accent.
Finally gave up waiting for a ride back to visitors center & just walked
Skip the tram & walk

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had previously been to Arlington, but only to go to see Kennedy's tomb. But this time I took the ANC tours, which is about $8 or 9 dollars. It included 3 stops. I feel that the only reason to take ANC is if you don't want to walk. Like the previous commentor said, we waited a long time for the tram to pick us up. It seems that groups can reserve these trams. So if you're there when these groups are there, you'll be waiting a long time for the next available tram. But this sight is a must see, it's amazing to see all those tombstones row after row. You know that a lot of Americans died for this country, but when you see it up close it really hits you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.