We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arlington great. ANC tours awful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Ranked #2 of 28 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Gardnerville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Arlington great. ANC tours awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ticket sales woman was rude, tram very late
Could not understand tram driver or tour guide due to thick accent.
Finally gave up waiting for a ride back to visitors center & just walked
Skip the tram & walk

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,281
    440
    57
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had previously been to Arlington, but only to go to see Kennedy's tomb. But this time I took the ANC tours, which is about $8 or 9 dollars. It included 3 stops. I feel that the only reason to take ANC is if you don't want to walk. Like the previous commentor said, we waited a long time for the tram to pick us up. It seems that groups can reserve these trams. So if you're there when these groups are there, you'll be waiting a long time for the next available tram. But this sight is a must see, it's amazing to see all those tombstones row after row. You know that a lot of Americans died for this country, but when you see it up close it really hits you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“So humbling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited Arlington on this amazingly beautiful day and we were humbled by the people we met and the stories we heard. A convoy of old buses pick you up and drop you off at designated areas along the route. There is some maintenance going on at President Kennedys grave(think its a new gas line being installed for the eternal flame) so dont be too dissapointed but the Tomb of the Unknown is a sight not to be missed. On the day we visited, some schools were presenting at the wreath laying ceremony. OMG!! how could you not be moved by what happens there. Being from Ireland, we had always wanted to go here(guess it was the Kennedy connection) but it was amazing overall!
Just as a footnote, we were staying at a hotel in the Dupont circle area and had got a taxi to take us to Arlington, the price going there was $9.50 plus we gave him a tip. Coming back we took a taxi from outside Arlington, thinking the return journey would be the same or at least similar, no such luck! On arrival at our hotel at Dupont circle he hit his meter so many times the amount went up to $15.90!!!!! When we challenged this he said it was because he had picked us up in Virginia!!!!!!!! so it was more expensive, we didnt give him a tip and he got very nasty. Word of warning, negotiate a price before you get in the cab!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Simple, moving, tribute to those that made the ultimate sacrifice and their loved ones. Suggested that you see where JFK is laid to rest along with other notables however it is the common American who deserves the recognition

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Arlington is huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arlington is huge and a lot bigger than I imagined. The sites (Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, JFK gravesite and the mansion) are quite a distance apart so taking the tram car is almost a must. To me, this was transportation only. Purchased tickets at the welcome center at Arlington. It took us about 2 hours to see it. There are bathrooms at the welcome center and fountains throughout but there is no place to purchase a drink on the property.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.