We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So humbling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 35 attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
belfast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“So humbling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited Arlington on this amazingly beautiful day and we were humbled by the people we met and the stories we heard. A convoy of old buses pick you up and drop you off at designated areas along the route. There is some maintenance going on at President Kennedys grave(think its a new gas line being installed for the eternal flame) so dont be too dissapointed but the Tomb of the Unknown is a sight not to be missed. On the day we visited, some schools were presenting at the wreath laying ceremony. OMG!! how could you not be moved by what happens there. Being from Ireland, we had always wanted to go here(guess it was the Kennedy connection) but it was amazing overall!
Just as a footnote, we were staying at a hotel in the Dupont circle area and had got a taxi to take us to Arlington, the price going there was $9.50 plus we gave him a tip. Coming back we took a taxi from outside Arlington, thinking the return journey would be the same or at least similar, no such luck! On arrival at our hotel at Dupont circle he hit his meter so many times the amount went up to $15.90!!!!! When we challenged this he said it was because he had picked us up in Virginia!!!!!!!! so it was more expensive, we didnt give him a tip and he got very nasty. Word of warning, negotiate a price before you get in the cab!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,823
    355
    44
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Simple, moving, tribute to those that made the ultimate sacrifice and their loved ones. Suggested that you see where JFK is laid to rest along with other notables however it is the common American who deserves the recognition

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Arlington is huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arlington is huge and a lot bigger than I imagined. The sites (Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, JFK gravesite and the mansion) are quite a distance apart so taking the tram car is almost a must. To me, this was transportation only. Purchased tickets at the welcome center at Arlington. It took us about 2 hours to see it. There are bathrooms at the welcome center and fountains throughout but there is no place to purchase a drink on the property.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Arlington Excellent, ANC Trams Poor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Arlington National Cemetary this week. This is a must see while in Washington. To see the final resting place of over 400,000 of our nations finest is a powerful experience. Unfortunately our experience with ANC was an extreme disappointment. We were told the trams ran every 20 minutes and there are three tram stops. The timing of the trams was from 30-45 minutes and there was no way to predict when one would come and if it would be loaded when it arrived at your stop. Visiting Arlington National Cemetery should be on every Americans bucket list. Skip the ANC tram and enjoy the visit to this hallow ground.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“DC Tours is the way to see Arlington Cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had only one full day to spend in Washington, DC recently, so we booked a four-hour lectured bus tour through DC Tours called "Arlington Cemetery & A Taste of DC Tour in Washington." It worked out so great, because the comfortably air-conditioned bus took us to the major sights for info and photographs, with stops at the State Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial Wall, and Martin Luther King Memorial. We were there long enough to walk along the tidal basin and see the memorial to FDR as well. Though we didn't stop at the Washington Monument, we were able to view it and take some pictures along the National Mall. We also passed slowly by the White House, WWII Memorial, Jefferson Memorial, Holocaust Memorial, Air and Space Museum, Building of Engraving & Printing, and Smithsonian Castle. This comprehensive tour included a stop at Arlington National Cemetery, where we boarded a tram and rode to the site of JFK's burial and the eternal flame as well as the Tomb of the Unknown, where we witnessed a changing of the guard and laying of the wreath. Awesome! The cemetery is a must-see stop if you're in the D.C. area; If your time is limited, this bus tour is the best because they know how to get around easily and you get to see an awful lot in a short amount of time. Thumbs Up for DC Tours!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arlington National Cemetery to your Saves list