We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction, terrible bus service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 35 attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
1 review
“Great attraction, terrible bus service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The cemetery is of course amazing, a must see. The tram tour with grayline was terrible. Trams "every 15 minutes" were at least every 30 minutes. If you can walk, you should, as you will otherwise spend a lot of time standing around waiting (and hopefully in the shade, if you are lucky)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,825
    356
    44
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GUTHRIE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Proud and Humble American”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have visited Arlington National Cemetery many times. Once in the rain, but I did not mind, if those young men can stand guard in bad weather, I should endure and show respect. Do yourself a favor and research being a Tomb guard and there sacrifices. I do not care how many times I visit, each time makes me Proud of my country. If this sacred place does not humble you, you might consider moving to another country. The cemetery is beautifully kept and the honor bestowed to the fallen is unsurpassed. On a lighter note the views and scenery from atop the hill is amazing and serene. Please visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bittersweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have seen photos of the rows upon rows of cemetery stones, but this is a really a place worthwhile to visit if you have the chance. The Arlington House which was the home of Robert E Lee and his wife Mary Anna Custis who was the step great-granddaughter of George Washington sits on a hill that views the city of Washington DC. The park is huge but take the time to stroll, The eternal flame of John F. Kennedy sits at the bottom of the Arlington House, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier where you can catch the changing of the guard and ceremonies for the soldiers who have sacrificed their life for our country. It is a beautifully kept park that has combined our country's history with respect for all those who have served. I am very glad to have visited this place of honor and would very much like to go back to learn more of what this park has to offer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful...a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The graves of the armed forces and military of all wars. Points of interest are the TOMB OF THE UNKNOWN SOILDERS changing of the guard. The Kennedy Family gravesite, and eternal flame... The Columbia and Challenger Astronaut tribute grave sites, and lovely grounds pay tribute for those who served our beautiful country. There are tour busses to the different areas but walking is also very rewarding. It is not as large as pictured, and there are a number of hills to climb for foot traffic. The visitor center is helpful and this is where the restrooms are located. Entrance to the cemetery is free, but there is paid parking in the parking garage.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Humbling...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In my many years wandering this great nation, I have been inspired (Devil's Postpile), in awe (Grand Canyon), entertained (NYC), appreciative (Mt. Rushmore), stunned (Maine coast), at peace (Yosemite) and exhilarated (Yellowstone. But nothing prepared me for the spectacle that is Arlington National Cemetery.

I was expecting Robert E.Lee's former residence on a hill surrounded by rows of white headstones, Kennedy's grave and a sweet view overlooking DC. What I got was a moving, humbling experience and appreciation for the military dead and their sacrifice for our freedoms.

Everything is so well set out to project a sense of calm dignity and grandeur. While it is a place of peace, there is nothing depressing about it. There is a vitality and splendor about Arlington and the grounds are so well maintained. Seeing hundreds and thousands of gravestones, all placed in perfect precision, helped me better appreciate the gravity of this special place. I even got to witness a funeral, replete with 21 gun salute and taps.

What a special national treasure. DO NOT miss it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arlington National Cemetery to your Saves list