We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful...a must visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Ranked #2 of 28 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful...a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The graves of the armed forces and military of all wars. Points of interest are the TOMB OF THE UNKNOWN SOILDERS changing of the guard. The Kennedy Family gravesite, and eternal flame... The Columbia and Challenger Astronaut tribute grave sites, and lovely grounds pay tribute for those who served our beautiful country. There are tour busses to the different areas but walking is also very rewarding. It is not as large as pictured, and there are a number of hills to climb for foot traffic. The visitor center is helpful and this is where the restrooms are located. Entrance to the cemetery is free, but there is paid parking in the parking garage.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,281
    440
    57
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Humbling...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In my many years wandering this great nation, I have been inspired (Devil's Postpile), in awe (Grand Canyon), entertained (NYC), appreciative (Mt. Rushmore), stunned (Maine coast), at peace (Yosemite) and exhilarated (Yellowstone. But nothing prepared me for the spectacle that is Arlington National Cemetery.

I was expecting Robert E.Lee's former residence on a hill surrounded by rows of white headstones, Kennedy's grave and a sweet view overlooking DC. What I got was a moving, humbling experience and appreciation for the military dead and their sacrifice for our freedoms.

Everything is so well set out to project a sense of calm dignity and grandeur. While it is a place of peace, there is nothing depressing about it. There is a vitality and splendor about Arlington and the grounds are so well maintained. Seeing hundreds and thousands of gravestones, all placed in perfect precision, helped me better appreciate the gravity of this special place. I even got to witness a funeral, replete with 21 gun salute and taps.

What a special national treasure. DO NOT miss it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield.ma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A MUST SEEFOR EVERY AMERICAN IF YOU ARE IN WASHINGTON D.C. -- VERY POWERFUL EMOTIONALLLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was my first trip to Washington D.C. .Our visit to Arlington was veryemotional seeing the site where so many people gave their lives for the defense of our country. We visited the grave site of JFK and the eternal flame. The tomb of the unknown soldier and the changing of the guard was a very emotional scene.The day we visited was a dreary misty day which added to the somber experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cemetery with immense History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

visiting Washington DC? Visit a very sacred place. Pay respect to our fallen heroes. Visit the grave of one of our Country's most endeared President John F. Kennedy and First lady Jackalynn Onasis at the grave of the eternal flame. Bet you didn't know you could visit a home centuries old which sits overlooking breathtaking views of the US Capital and Washington Monument. Take a bus tour for only 7.00 and discover this great Gem and learn of the plantation and other historical significance to this property. You will be amazed..don't forget to catch the changing if the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, Ga
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Time to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am glad we went here, even though we have no friends or relatives buried here. We took the tram tour and were glad we did, the drivers were excellent. Although the tram was not a hop-on-hop-off, there were 3 stops where you could get off and on. The changing of the guard at the Unknown Soldiers' tomb is very inspiring and the grounds are beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.