We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harer Messob Ethiopian Restaurant

Harer Messob Ethiopian Restaurant
542 23rd St, Arlington, VA 22202
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #118 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Navarre,FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A neat experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We ordered a traditional meal for 2 and enjoyed the variety of different dishes. Enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    12
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very fun and tasty, it was.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This was my first Ethiopian food. good prices, outdoor and indoor seating, and great tasting food made for a great meal. I didn't try the desserts or coffees, but they seemed to have a good variety. Waitress was patient and in good spirits, helping us pronounce and understand the menu items.

I plan to go again when I'm back in town, whenever that may be.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Somthing different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have never eaten Ethiopian food so on our recent visit to Crystal City we took the plunge. I was pleasantly surprised at our meal. We had the vegetarian Sambussa (a bit like a samosa), Awaze Yebeg Tibs (spicy lamb stew) and the veggie combo which consisted of small portions of red and yellow lentils, chick peas, tomato salad, potato salad and cabbage salad. It was served on a huge platter with the veggies circling the lamb in the middle. All the food was resting on a bread which I can only describe as a huge pancake. The presentation was so colorful and the food was delicious. It had a bit of a kick if you like spiciness this is for you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not my first Ethiopean restaurant but may be the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Convenient walk from my hotel but they have off street parking which is a plus in this area. Ate an enexpensive dinner but the lunch looked like a even better bargain. My partner and I had the combination platter for two but next time weare going to bring a couple of friends to help us finish it off! The food was ver tasty and well presented. The services was quite helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

After reading the book "Cutting for Stone" I really wanted to try Ethiopian food, finally I did. It was delicious! Be prepared the staff is actually from Ethiopia and does not speak English well, so do some research on what you want to try ahead of time. The food is served with their native bread, and meant to spread on the bread and everyone shares. The flavors were complex and delicious, and the honey wine compliments the spices of the food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harer Messob Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harer Messob Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harer Messob Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.