We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Chang's Restaurant

Duck Chang's Restaurant
4427 John Marr Dr, Annandale, VA 22003-3302
703-941-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 103 restaurants in Annandale
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We decided to go to Duck Chang's for Christmas Dinner, since the entire family was not here yet. We were not disappointed. We ordered Peking Duck, The speciality, Chicken Hunan, A vegatarian dish, Spring rolls, and spare ribs. Everything was excellant. The decor is ho-hum, but we didn't go for that, go for the food. We arrived at 3:30. When we had finished our meal at 5:30, the line was out the door.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    13
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a good restaurant. They have many different dishes and they are all good. Specialty is duck. No matter who ordered the duck, they slice it in the dinning room for all to see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Duck is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We decided to try Duck Chang as the reviews are pretty good, We wanted to try the duck. I did enjoy it but it was not that large of a portion. This place has been here forever and is family owned and run. The decor looks well worn and a little tired. The food is pretty good not great. The dining area is a bit small they crammed us into the back table and it was tight for a party of four.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were in the neighborhood, so decided to try it out -- we were delighted to rediscover Duck Chang's last night. The food was quite good. The service was even better. They were happy to accommodate our special dietary needs and checked with us regularly as to whether we were satisfied or had any other requests. The service was the kind you get only where the owners are present and hands on. Wish they were in our immediate neighborhood so we could go there more regularly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quiet little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

"Duck" Chang was one of the most acclaimed duck chefs in China before coming to the US. His son runs the restaurant now, maintaining the same high standards for the Peking Duck (the house specialty) and a nice variety of other dishes. A favorite of my family for 35 years.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Chang's Restaurant also viewed

Annandale, Fairfax County
Annandale, Fairfax County
 
Annandale, Fairfax County
Annandale, Fairfax County
 

Been to Duck Chang's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Chang's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.