We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Catering Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Cafe & Coffee

Main Street Cafe & Coffee
600 Main Street, Altavista, VA 24517
434.369.2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 restaurants in Altavista
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: Local restaurant serving hot panino sandwiches, cold deli sandwiches, fresh salads, and soups. We also carry locally-roasted coffee and from-scratch baked goods.
Restaurant details
Description: Local restaurant serving hot panino sandwiches, cold deli sandwiches, fresh salads, and soups. We also carry locally-roasted coffee and from-scratch baked goods.
Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Catering Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Contacted Main Street somewhat last minute for help with an event that needed catering. They were very professional in the assistance provided, and everything we received was really wonderful from a large variety of sandwiches, beautiful fruit platter and dessert as well (homemade cookies). Appreciated their support to the busy deadline. Would highly recommend the cafe for any catering needs in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We're very glad that we were able to assist you in a stressful time. We hope that next time you're in the area it will be under more pleasant circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    17
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
“OFF THE CHARTS EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife, daughter, and myself were traveling back to North Carolina from a nice ski weekend at Wintergreen Ski Resort. It was lunch time and we decided to seek out something besides the usual fast food choices and boy are we glad we came accross this gem! Great food, excellent atmosphere, and the young man and his wife who run this place are the best. We are planning to return to Wintergreen this weekend and we have already planned our travel time around The Main Street Cafe so we can have another great lunch. This place is a winner!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It was great to see you and your family again this weekend. We hope you have a great trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must try this great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Took a group of seven ladies for lunch and was so impressed with the menu and the friendliness of the staff! I had the day's special which was a ham and cheese sandwich with potato soup. The sandwich was delicious and the soup, thick and creamy and hot! Delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We're so glad that you and your friends had a great experience with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon, next time you're down in our area. We're always running new special items, so you will have plenty of options to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Main Street Café is a charming eatery that provides fresh food choices, amazing customer service in a delightful cafe environment. At first I was addicted to the Italian Stallion sandwich, then I tried the grilled chicken Caesar salad and most recently I've been enjoying their soups. The Main Street Cafe is a really terrific place to have business meetings over food or really great coffee or catch up with your friends! The staff is friendly and thoughtful. You won't go wrong if you swing by the Main Street Cafe & Coffee shop - it is well worth the trip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It's always great to see you at the shop. Your encouragement and support of businesses in the community are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynch Station, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Better than Panera, any day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are looking for a whole food experience with southern hospitality, then you've found it here. Main Street Cafe & Coffee knows what they're doing, and they are doing it well. Don't expect to get in and out in five minutes... but expect to feel full, happy, and satisfied with the time and cash spent. Baristas are smart, sandwiches are "whoa" amazing, and the baked goods will bring you back for more. And they've got stuff for tots and teenagers too.

If you want a nice cup of coffee, but are unsure of the espresso-based drinks, ask about a pour-over. Individually percolated just for you, this menu item is less than $2 (I think) and puts regular drip coffee to shame.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks, Alicia! The pour-over coffee has become so popular that we make EVERY cup of coffee that way now. You need to try our new Kenya bean - it's rich and fruity, really good in a French press or the pour-over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Cafe & Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.