We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Days Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alta Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Alta Vista to your Saves list
Days Inn Alta Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1557 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Altavista)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Broadway, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not your typical Days Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The building is well-kept and clean and right off of US 29.

The staff was accommodating and quite friendly. Check-in was easy and quick.

The room contains a bed (depending on type - mine was a King), small desk, chair, bedside tables, a microwave/fridge combo, and a flat screen TV. The TV was modern and there were a couple HBOs available and the usual array of channels. Some of them had poor reception, but overall it was pretty standard for DirectTV (which I believe it was. I could be mis-remembering). The microwave/fridge combo was alright; the fridge didn't get all that cold even after adjusting it. Still did its job though.

The room was clean and all the fixtures work.

The breakfast was expansive for a budget hotel chain like the Days Inn. Cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, eggs, juice, various pastries, and several other things I am sure I am forgetting to include.

The parking lots is easy to get in and out of. Not a whole lot of local options as far as food, but there are a few things a mile or two down the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
First let us thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We do strive to ensure that all of our guests have a positive stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and may we hope to see you in the future if you are in our area again. Have a wonderful day and many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    21
    12
    15
See reviews for
46
19
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and were happy with our choice.
The gentleman at check-in was friendly and informed us about breakfast and WiFi.
We chose a whirlpool garden tub room and were impressed with the size of our accommodations. The room was huge. We loved it.
Realizing that it is hard to keep a garden tub room fresh and clean, we found that it met our very high standards. The carpet was in good shape with no odors. There were no signs of mold, mildew, or water damage. Bedding was clean and comfortable. Our room contained a refrigerator which worked well.
The breakfast bar included scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage, cereals, fresh waffles, and much more.
Although right off a US highway, the hotel was quiet and away from most traffic.
Expect to drive a few miles up the same road to get to a restaurant or store.

The only negatives items were the outside door at the end of the hall had a broken mag-lock that left the entrance unsecured.
The whirlpool garden tub had several jets and moved lots of water but did not aerate the water. We looked for an air adjustment but saw none. Perhaps it just moves water. It was still relaxing, welcome relief at the end of the day.

If we ever return to Alta Vista we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for such a in-depth review! That takes time and recollection that we are so grateful for. We are pleased that you had a great and relaxing stay away from home. We know how important it is to be at ease and enjoy a good nights rest if you can't be at home. We have been in the process of trying to rectify the rear entrance door issue. Of course this is on the priority list of repairs/replacements. We want all of our guests and staff members to feel safe and secure while on the property and we strive to make sure this goal is met. We hope that you will return when in our area again and want to wish you and your family a wonderful and prosperous New Year! Thanks again for such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is an easy place to find away from the main highway. It is in a safe area away from anything. The office staff were friendly and suggested a great place to have dinner (Perry's). There is a gas station across the street and down the way. I will stay here again. The rooms are clean and nice. Overall it is a quiet easy going hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving a positive review and glad to know that you enjoyed "Perkys". Come back again if you are in our area. Happy Holidays and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Friendliest staff I have ever encountered at any of my hotel stays. I travel a lot for business and
I had good stay. Do not usually leave review but I felt really appreciated so decided to leave a review for this hotel. Good size large rooms with microwave and refrigerator and comfy beds which are most important for me. nice touch ups with recreation area and hot breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay while here on business. Being away from home is a stress in itself and its satisfying to know that there are places that you truly feel welcome. Happy Holidays and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Pleasantly surprised, the non smoking room was actually was nice. We had stayed at this hotel about 5 or 6 years ago and it was horrible, swore we wouldn't be back. Seems that the new franchise is working out well. The hotel is clean, the halls even smell good. The hot breakfast was fresh and hot! Definitely will stay again at this property.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a positive review! We are striving everyday to improve our standards so you may have a pleasant stay when away from home. Let us extend a Happy Holiday wish to you and your family and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel deserves a 5 because my high expectations were not only met, but beyond exceeded. The room was very clean, and the shampoo smelt great! Even though the hotel seemed full, I slept peacefully through out the entire night. Also, having a flat screen was a plus. Overall, great southern hospitality and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Just read your review for us and we would like to thank you for leaving us such a nice review. Thank you and we certainly hope that we can serve you if you are in our area again. Happy Holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alta Vista

Address: 1557 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Altavista)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Altavista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Alta Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel. We re minutes away from Liberty University, Lynchburg College, and Randolph Macon Women s College.Take a visit to Appomattox Historic Park, Avoca Museum, or Blue Ridge Parkway. The Blue Ridge Parkway connects the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia to the Pisgah National Forest in North Carolina. There is so much to tell about the Blue Ridge Parkway, its many natural wonders, constant array of spectacular vistas and cultural mountain communities along its slopes, coves and valleys that this profile is a mere scratch of the surface.At Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel your wish is our command. Come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alta Vista Hotel Altavista
Holiday Inn Altavista
Altavista Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alta Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.