We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overwood

Overwood
220 North Lee St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703.535.3340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Overwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Satin John, IN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Overwood has a brick oven family feel in a nice area of Old Town. The menu is diverse and cocktails are good. Service was really top notch. Our waitress was fun and made us feel well taken care of.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    52
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Two blocks off King, but worth the added stroll down Lee Street!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

With so many choices in Old Town, this place can get lost in the crowd. My friends and I re-discovered for dinner and I must add that each and every time I do... I remind myself to come back soon!

This is a grill that cooks with wood. The Salmon is my favorite, then again, the salads and sandwiches are good too!

The brunch is also worthy of consideration. Service is outstanding and the atmosphere is noisier in some rooms than others. I prefer the back room where the chefs are busy and visible.

Bar scene is mostly locals, and is a great place to chat (and hear yourself think) when out with friends late at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“nice local atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

they keep redecorating and I love the feel inside; always had excellent meals.and would recommend it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can do better in Old Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I used to live across the street and ate at Overwood all the time. After having ordered almost everything on the menu, I realized that it all tasted the same. I moved a few blocks away, and stopped going, and after a two year hiatus returned with my fiancee for dinner. After spending $50 for two salads and an appetizer, I realized that I would have been better off spending $10 on two Safeway salad kits and giving the other $40 to the IRS--it would have been a better value and had more flavor. Overwood has a great happy hour and friendly staff, but food is incredibly generic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAUNTON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hearty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just had my daughter's baby shower here, and it was delicious! We chose items off of the brunch menu and all of it is excellent. The food is plentiful and delcious. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the service is great. I've also had dinner here, but I HIGHLY recommend it for breakfast / brunch...it will be the only meal you'll need to eat for the day!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overwood also viewed

 

Been to Overwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.