We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Old Town -- yep, tried 'em all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momo Sushi & Cafe

Momo Sushi & Cafe
212 Queen St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2613 (Old Town)
703-299-9092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 614 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Washington DC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Old Town -- yep, tried 'em all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A little pricey, but that's to be expected with the real estate near the beach. The place is hopping full, but they kept the tables cleared and reset quickly, and it never appeared to be more than a five minute wait. There is also a second floor with the same seating and additional sushi bar/staff. So, don't let the appearance of a small size scare you away from the wait. You wont wait long, and it's well worth a long wait.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ah-Mazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This little hidden sushi joint is one for the books! Great service, a mellow atmosphere, fresh, fresh, and fresh sushi! I have never been disappointed and I've tried at least one new roll every time. Well done Momo's!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my god”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just be here. Its toooooo good


I wish i can eat more. sooooon
It is soo cool and traditional. Very simple and clean

The chef is very close so it feels much friendlier

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sushi for breakfast, lunch and dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This little place is probably THE best sushi place! Unpretentious, laid back, tiny, and most of all fabulously delicious! You will not find really fancy sushi creations here, just super fresh, delicious staples! At very reasonable prices! Can't wait to get back...most likely the day after tomorrow :-)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is our favorite spot for sushi in Old Town. The restaurant is very small. I would recommend calling ahead to get take-out and enjoying it back at your house/hotel, particularly if you don't want to wait.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momo Sushi & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Momo Sushi & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momo Sushi & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.