We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good sushi, quaint atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momo Sushi & Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Momo Sushi & Cafe
212 Queen St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2613 (Old Town)
703-299-9092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 662 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good sushi, quaint atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

They were very friendly to us, as we had a rather spunky child with us, and although the seating is limited and cozy, it felt very inviting and accommodating. The sushi was excellent and being able to watch the sushi being made was fascinating. Reservations are recommended for weekends or at least call ahead, there isn't much space to wait, in warm weather that might not be an issue, but it can be rather strange standing waiting for a table while staring at the people eating very close to you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
1 review
“freshest sushi in Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Tiny space, two blocks off King Street, two blocks off the waterfront, not touristy, but the best sushi and the freshest fish anywhere. Outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

When it comes to experimenting at sushi restaurants we are always cautious. This place is a solid good diviner every time. We don't worry about whether we will have a good meal. It's always consistent. The tempura is always lights and perfect. I wish the location had a better waiting area outside when there is a wait. They use every bit of inside space for diners. Being pregnant it would be nice to have some benches, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best sushi in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hands down some of the best sushi I have ever had! Highly recommed for any sushi snob- plus the service is great. I eat here regularly and have never been disapointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tasty, Authentic Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I ate at Momo Sushi while attending a business conference in Alexandria in November 2012. The location is just off the main tourist area, and the restaurant was busy on a Friday night with lots of locals in attendance. I ate at the sushi bar, which was the only spot available. I ordered a variety of sushi items a la carte- sea urchin, octopus, baby octopus, clam, and a few different rolls (spicy tuna, california, and crunchy seaweed). The food was prepared upon request, and everything tasted fresh and delicious. Momo Sushi has a variety of beers from Asia although no beers were on tap, which is a bit of a disappointment. I will return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momo Sushi & Cafe also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Momo Sushi & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momo Sushi & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.